How Rust Can Insidiously, Literally Kill You

Don’t let this chemical reaction get the better of you in enclosed spaces.

Sam Westreich, PhD
Sharing Science

--

Normally, I just worry about tetanus when handling rusty things. But now, I’m worried about immediate suffocation as well! So many threats in the world. Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

When I think about rust (which, I’ll admit, is not very often), I usually consider it in the same category as moss. It’s present in damp areas, can be an annoying nuisance, but isn’t a major threat. Unlike a tiger, I’m not worried about rust attempting to eat me.

However, rust can be surprisingly deadly. And I’m not just talking about tetanus — although I’ll cover that as well.

If you’re not careful, spending time in a rust-filled environment can prove toxic. People have died from being around too much rust.

Here’s what goes wrong.

What is rust, anyway?

When we talk about rust, we’re usually talking about the conversion of iron metal into iron oxide.

Rust occurs when iron metal is exposed to any source of oxygen, typically the atmosphere. The iron atoms bond with the oxygen, forming a different compound called iron oxide. We refer to iron oxide, that brown, flaky material, as rust.

Rust formation is catalyzed (sped up and encouraged) by the presence of water, especially salt water. The water works its way into tiny, microscopic holes and cracks in metal…

--

--

Sam Westreich, PhD
Sharing Science

PhD in genetics, bioinformatician, scientist at a Silicon Valley startup. Microbiome is the secret of biology that we’ve overlooked.