Anne Frank

roman mikhail
Historical Snapshots
1 min readSep 16, 2016

Young Anne Frank loved to write. She dreamt of being a journalist one day.

But when she was a precocious teen of 13, with a soft smile and gentle eyes, her family had to go into hiding to avoid being sent to a concentration camp during the Holocaust.

She documented her life while in hiding. “When I write I can shake off all my cares. My sorrow disappears, my spirits are revived!” she remarked.

And she shared her thoughts on life with us. “It’s really a wonder that I haven’t dropped all my ideals, because they seem so absurd and impossible to carry out. Yet I keep them, because in spite of everything, I still believe that people are really good at heart.”

Eventually she and her family were arrested and sent to a concentration camp, where Anne would perish.

Her words however live on.

--

--