The End of the World

Edward Terry
Poetry Writing
Published in
1 min readJun 4, 2015

--

A poem for which the title is apt

Cry me a tear that mourns every death, then
Salute me a toast that honours the last breath, when
We wait alone at the end of the world.

Crack me a joke that brings a smile to my lips, then
Blow me a kiss before my helplessness dips, when
We sit alone at the end of the world.

Bury me deep so I can see the light, then
Say me a prayer and dream in the night, when
You sleep alone at the end of the world.

Make me a promise and don’t give up hope, then
Hold me that thought so we might all just cope, when
You’re all alone at the end of the world.

© April 1997. All Rights Reserved.

Originally published at www.hologram.me.uk on August 20, 2014.

--

--

Edward Terry
Poetry Writing

Coach & Business Consultant. Writer. @EdwardTerry.