Two Weeks in Beijing: 5 Takeaways

Nabeez Chowdhury
A Nabeez in China
Published in
7 min readJul 8, 2016

Today officially marks the end of my first two weeks in Beijing, China. I had hoped to have written an earlier post concerning my arrival, but I’ve neither had the time or energy as life has moved so fast during that span. After arriving on a HOT Saturday morning in China’s capital, weary after a 30 hour journey consisting of two flights and a 13.5 hour layover in Moscow (THANK GOD for the capsule hotel at Sheremetyevo Terminal E), I went straight to my agent’s office to record a demo video which would be used by schools around the city to evaluate my candidacy and determine if they wanted to interview me. I ended up having two interviews that Monday, each of which consisted of a short meeting with a leader at the respective school as well as a short demo lesson in front of actual Chinese kindergartners. Considering I’ve NEVER taught before, imagine my horror at having to face foreign children already wary of my unfamiliar presence that I could be both fun AND exciting at the same time. For my demo, I chose to teach “Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes” as kids LOVE songs and knowing where your head is important information, wouldn’t you say? I ended up not getting either job as I was clearly uncertain of my ability to lead a class and maintain my students’ interest. However, I did not let this faze me and I prepared with much more conviction for an interview I had the very next day. I went in completely relaxed, had a GREAT time with kids, and got hired on the spot! I was so relieved that a school was actually willing to put faith in my potential to influence the young minds within its walls!

I started shadowing my predecessor the very next day before having my first day of actual teaching that Friday. While I was excited for the moment, the pressure of so much responsibility while not really having time to process what was happening seemed too much to bear at first. Now that I’ve gotten a full week of teaching under my belt combined with the fact my jet lag seems to be wearing off, I finally feel at ease and capable to truly assess my time in this crazy metropolis thus far.

5 TAKEAWAYS

  1. It’s possible to survive without knowing Mandarin in Beijing, but learning some words will make life EASIER.

As China’s capital and one of the largest cities in the world, Beijing is the country’s cultural, political, and educational hub. A bastion of history and tradition, Beijing is also a very cosmopolitan city with a diverse population from all over China/the world and home to various international businesses. There’s a lot of foreigners here and one can live here without picking up the local language. There’s a lot of expat bars, restaurant menus with pictures that sometimes have English translation, and bilingual public transportation announcements/maps in English/Chinese. That being said, learning the language will definitely make one’s life easier as an overwhelming majority of Chinese people don’t speak English and almost all signs are in Chinese. This is why English teachers are in such high demand because there’s a significant push to educate the younger generation on the language as the country continues its rapid modernization. Although I’ve only been here for two weeks and my grasp on Mandarin is minimal as expected, I’ve already felt the void created like not understanding why the food I served is completely different from what I ordered because I can’t communicate with the waiter or why the water in my bathroom sink turned yellow for a short period of time since I don’t understand my landlord (it was due to repairs!).

Surely one can rely on gestures here to get by, but what’s the point of seeing the world if you’re not going to make an effort to learn a language and connect with the locals?

2. Chinese people are AWESOME

View from the rooftop of a hutong or narrow alleyways common to cities in northern China.

For whatever reason, Chinese people get a bad rep around the world but they are truly some of the nicest and most hospitable people you’ll meet. I’ll never forget the kind man who blocked an overly aggressive dog so that I could enter my apartment or the grandmother in my building who always smiles and waves excitedly whenever she sees me. My resolve to learn Mandarin is even stronger now because the Chinese LOVE when a foreigner speaks Mandarin to them. I always get a surprised smile or laugh whenever I greet random people with Ni Hao (hello) on the street or say Xie Xie (thank you) to the subway guards after they check my bag. The worst part about not knowing the language is that once people hear say something in Mandarin, they get excited and want to start a conversation that I sadly cannot participate in. Universal gestures will do for now!

3. Beijing’s weather and drivers SUCK!

It’s the middle of summer in Beijing right now which means it’s at least 90+ degrees Fahrenheit on a daily basis. Partly due to my jet lag, I have yet to truly explore the city as any expedition will cause me to be completely drenched in sweat although it feels like the Chinese never seem to sweat. Winters are just as bad since the wind chill is debilitating and the city’s smog is supposed to be at its worst during this time. As someone who has never fared well in extreme temperatures, this will be a challenge.

Shuangquiao Station off the Batong Line of the Beijing Subway. The subway is the BEST way to see the city.

As bad as the weather can get here, the drivers are equally terrible. Traffic laws exist but aren’t really enforced and stoplights are only used on the main roads. Traffic jams are a daily occurrence as is the incessant honking of the trucks and buses crammed together on any road at any time of day. If this was America, every driver would get at least 5 tickets a day. EVERYONE jaywalks here and so will you once you get here even if you’re vehemently against it. Beijing moves fast and if you’re not moving with it, you’ll get left behind. Thankfully, the subway is very modern and can get you anywhere in the city for very cheap.

4. I miss home, but I DON’T miss America.

One of the main reasons that I wanted to come to China was so that I could pursue an opportunity and live my life on my own terms. I’m well on my way, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss my parents, my family, my friends, and all the relationships I built in the States. When you’re in a foreign country thousands of miles away from home and almost NO ONE speaks your language, you initially feel a certain sense of isolation which is expected. I’m not discouraged or saddened by this feeling, it’s natural. As I get more adjusted to my surroundings, I’ll feel more comfortable and adventurous. But still, add me on Skype and/or WeChat (both nabeezc) y’all!

The other part is that I needed a break from the States. I’ve always prided myself on being up to date on current events and providing an opinion, but waking up to the negativity of another act of police brutality, racism, hate, ignorance, bigotry, or a whackjob inappropriately exercising his 2nd Amendment right gets exhausting after a while. I’m still paying attention, don’t get me wrong, but I needed a break.

It’s also election season in America and like most Americans, I’m disengaged from the political after repeated disappointments. I also just HATE the two main candidates in contention. Incoming are the ads that say this candidate will do this or that. Most people believe them, I don’t. Either we continue our declining status quo or elect the greatest troll to have ever existed. Not very appealing.

I do miss clean tap water, clean air, and FDA food safety regulations.

5. Teaching will be a challenge, but I’m ready to step up to the plate.

I’ve heard a lot of bad stories of English teachers coming to China and getting scammed by fake agencies and/or working with terrible schools. Luckily, I’ve hit the jackpot with both. I LOVE the school I work with and not just because it’s a 2 minute walk from my apartment! It’s a kindergarten that has embraced the Montessori model and all the teachers have an extremely close and nurturing relationship with the students who range from 2–6 years old. It’s an extremely supportive environment and the teachers understand that I will grow into the role. More than anything, the school cares that I’m able to develop a relationship with the students and I’ve been able to do that in the short time that I’ve been there. The school is divided into 5 class groups and within each group, the classes are divided between big kids and small kids. Since I am an English teacher for two class groups, Jasmine and Orchid, I teach two 30 minute lessons within each totaling to two hours of teaching during a 8.5 hour workday. The rest of the time is spent interacting with the kids and a 2.5 hour lunch break which is a good time for a nap!

Jasmine class learning about Japanese culinary arts as a part of Japanese Culture Week!

As for my teaching, there is room for improvement but my confidence is building every day. The hardest part is determining how to relay material/games as it’s an immersive style of teaching and the kids don’t understand English. However, I already love the kids I teach and will do whatever it takes to be the best I can be.

Celebrating one of my students’ 4th birthday in Orchid class!

--

--