Wildlife film maker Laurie fell in love with the Swedish outdoors

Svenska Nomader
A Nomad’s Guide to Sweden
2 min readMay 4, 2021
Laurie Snowboarding in northern Sweden

Digital nomad Laurie’s currently busy enjoying city life in the south of Stockholm even though it’s nature and the active, outdoorsy Swedish lifestyle he craves most. By working remotely, he can have the best of both worlds.

Tell us a bit about yourself — where are you from and where are you right now?

My name is Laurie, I’m a freelance wildlife film maker and surfer from the UK and right now I’m living in Handen, in the south of Stockholm.

What do you do for a living?

I’m an independent film-maker working with wildlife NGO’s and conservation practitioners across the globe to produce films that will help advance causes to protect wildlife and ecosystems, as well as benefit communities that depend upon them.

Tell us a bit about your journey towards becoming a digital nomad?

After working as a wildlife biologist in south-east Asia and Central America for many years, I developed the realisation that films could be used as a powerful tool to enact action in conservation. So since about 2017 I went all in on working as a film-maker, collaborating initially with contacts I’d established in my research days but steadily forging new connections as I went along. I taught myself mostly through trial and error but also with the help of friends and YouTube tutorials.

The journey has had up’s and downs, physically and emotionally but I’ve never looked back. I was almost eaten by lions once and had a close encounter with the cartel in the jungle on another occasion, but the highlights include documenting some of the most incredible wildlife, landscapes and people I could ever imagine.

What made you want to visit Sweden as a remote worker?

I would say the cuisine but the more accurate answer is my rather incredible girlfriend who is Swedish and is doing a PHD in Stockholm.

What pros and cons are there being a digital nomad in Sweden?

Access to nature, adventure, snowboarding, mountain biking and long summer days out, all even in the city are definate pro’s! Con’s are the ridiculous winter daylight hours, expensive living costs and being told off for laughing too loudly in public (only happened a couple of times…).

Your best tip for someone wanting to go live in Sweden as a digital nomad?

Get ahold of a mountain bike, snowboard, canoe, and/or tent and get outdoors!! It’s mind blowing.

Wanna share your nomad experience? Get in touch!
👉
ronja@svenskanomader.se

--

--