Three Reasons Why I Switched from Google Chrome to Safari

Cade Hunter
A Nucleus
Published in
2 min readMay 13, 2020

--

I did it. I moved away from the behemoth browser that is Google Chrome in favor of Safari. And here’s why.

Chrome is a resource hog

Chrome sucks up a huge amount of battery life and RAM, which is terrible when you're trying to use multiple apps on your machine at once. Safari, however, is optimized to work on Mac hardware and uses almost no energy when it’s sitting in the background, in addition to taking up way less RAM than Chrome.

Safari syncs my passwords across devices

Because I already use Safari on my iPhone, using Chrome instead on my Mac meant that none of my passwords would sync across devices, which was a major headache. Now, with Safari on my Mac, my passwords are updated across both devices automatically, and I can autofill them using Face ID on my phone or Touch ID on my Mac.

Safari is faster

Chrome is a very speedy browser… except when it isn’t. When it hangs and gets stuck before loading the page. Safari, however, has always been responsive when I’ve used it. It never hangs or crashes, like Chrome.

That’s it. I’m done with Chrome. And the only thing I’ll miss is the dinosaur game.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Cade Hunter
A Nucleus

I’m an Apple enthusiast, web developer, UX and UI designer, animator, and graphic designer. I’m a big fan of Swift and SwiftUI.