A Dad’s Priceless Memory: Learning From His Daughter

Rob Jones
A Parent Is Born
Published in
3 min readAug 14, 2022

--

“Art class” Maybe not the best drawing, but one that my daughter taught me to make just today!

By Rob Jones

A few years ago, my wife was offered a once-in-a-lifetime career opportunity.

A strange turn of events resulted in the family moving to two different cities over 1,800 miles apart.

My daughter and I live together, and grandma (my wife’s mom) stays with us from time to time. My wife visits, but travel was difficult during the early days of the pandemic. It was a tough decision, but we ultimately found that our daughter had more opportunities in the city with me.

And opportunities, my daughter is into everything! At the time of this article, she is six years old and has been taking piano classes, taekwondo, and an online art class since she was four.

She and I have always been close. Being apart from mom has brought us closer. Being involved with her hobbies has brought us much closer together.

Over the past two years, she has gotten pretty good at piano. She and I even post some of her videos on YouTube and TikTok now and again. She seems to find Taekwondo more of a chore. She only likes to test for her belts but doesn’t like to put in the hours of training to get there. But art is her passion. She loves to draw, sketch, paint, and build crafts with…

--

--

Rob Jones
A Parent Is Born

Rob Jones is the founder of the Thought Lodge and 1/2 of the daughter/dad duo bearandbaba on Tiktok.