Are All Home Educated Kids Weird?

The truth behind the judgement.

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
A Parent Is Born

--

Image by Ben White on Unsplash

If I could count the times I’ve been told, ‘I’ve thought about home educating my child but I don’t want them to be weird’, I would be a rich woman. And while it’s a good thing I am not more easily offended I thought that opening a discussion might be a good idea.

If by weird you mean different, then, without a doubt, yes home educated kids are weird!

A lot of the things you might think are weird but actually are pretty normal when you look at them through a slightly different lens.

For example, most home educated kids won’t know what school year they are supposed to be in, and to be honest, their parents won’t know either. They’ll usually have to google the average school ages per year to work it out and tell you. This is because in home education kids work at their own pace, meaning they will probably be two years ahead on some subjects but maybe a year behind on others. Having the freedom to recognise your strengths and weaknesses enables people to get really good at their natural gifts a lot younger, which will probably be the subject areas they end up working in as adults, regardless of whether they learned about them in or out of a school environment.

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
A Parent Is Born

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.