Can We Move Past Binary Gender? ‘Girl Talk’ Ice Cream.

Can boys have “girl talk”?

The Good Men Project
A Parent Is Born

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Gavin Lodge

I took my kids out for ice cream, the other day. It was a local specialty ice cream stand with homemade waffle cones and “revolutionary” takes on ice cream classics.

And though most ice cream shops’ flavors are usually just variations on a theme, I have to say, this place really did have some unique takes.

I totes fell for it. The “So Beyond S’Mores” really was so beyond mere S’mores.

But our experience occupied me for hours as I over-thought one flavor: “Girl talk.”

“Girl talk” comprised vanilla ice cream dyed pink and mixed with a swirl of chocolate, marshmallows and rainbow sprinkles.

Girl talk.

Also? Vanilla dyed pink?

My child ordered it. Because of course she did.

My non-binary child who self-identifies with she/her pronouns has calmed her knee-jerk fetish for all things sparkly and Pinkalicious. For years we wrung our hands thinking we needed to protect her by trying to focus her away from dresses and princesses. We fretted over how other people would judge her which we ultimately realized was fear of…

--

--

The Good Men Project
A Parent Is Born

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com