Dads Matter

Why dads play a key role in a child’s life.

Cathy Taughinbaugh
A Parent Is Born

--

Dad and son walking towards the ocean.
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

We will honor our dads on Sunday with Father’s Day.

It’s wonderful that most fathers show up and want only the best for their children. They are available, loving, and involved.

And it can be a bittersweet day for those concerned about their son or daughter or who have lost their child to addiction.

Fathers have a significant impact on their children and are so needed.

I made many mistakes when raising my kids. And I ended up getting divorced from them their dad. But the one thing that I think we did well, is that their dad and I were both involved in our kids’ lives.

They knew they were loved and we were both there for them.

My dad has been gone for over a decade, but I have fond memories of him. When my three brothers and I needed him, he was there. He always cared and tried to do the right thing as a father. We always knew he loved us.

And now, seeing my son and son-in-law be fathers is fun and rewarding. They are both hands-on in the trenches, with their wives doing the everyday chores of raising a child.

That is also not to say that single moms can’t raise healthy adults. They can. Yet, having a male father figure in the picture if a father is…

--

--

Cathy Taughinbaugh
A Parent Is Born

Invitation to Change Certified Group Facilitator & Author of The Compassion Antidote. Learn more at www.cathytaughinbaugh.com