Mom Guilt is Killing Me

Filling the Blanks, My Struggle to Complete the Parenting Puzzle

Jasmine Aneja
A Parent Is Born

--

A mother holding her child
Photo by Bethany Beck on Unsplash

Being a single mother working remotely from home, I constantly find myself in a tug-of-war between my job and my daughter. Every day, I wait eagerly for her to come back from nursery, dress her up, feed her, and spend as much time with her as possible. But no matter what I do, it never feels like enough. The thought that she won’t be a toddler forever haunts me. She won’t always be this pure and loving; one day, she’ll have her friends and her own life. Right now, she needs me for more than just the basics like story time, bath time, and flash card learning.

I feel torn between working for her better future and being there with her in the present.

This mom's guilt is like a weight on my shoulders, and it makes me sad. I don’t want to fail in this most important relationship. I’ve felt guilt from failed relationships as a daughter, sister, and wife, and I can’t bear to see that same disappointment in my daughter’s eyes.

I know I’m not alone in this struggle.

It’s a common story among mothers who are trying to balance work and family. Why is it that this guilt seems to fall so heavily on mothers but not on other parents? Through podcasts, blogs, and conversations with fellow moms, I’ve seen so…

--

--