The First Errand: The Japanese Tradition That Changed My Parenting Style In a Minute

How looking at other cultures can help us realize that nothing is black or white. Especially, when it comes to children.

James Blekking
A Parent Is Born

--

Japanese TV show “The first errand” shows 3-year-old children running errands by themselves.
Photo by Engin Akyurt: https://www.pexels.com/photo/person-holding-brush-drawing-kanji-script-1498273/

As a very soon-to-be dad, I am reading a lot about children. In my quest for basic parenting knowledge, I have also found some interesting TV documentaries that have helped me prepare for my daughter’s birth.

While watching one of those documentaries, I saw something that left me speechless. In “Becoming You”, a great documentary available on Apple TV, one can see how a couple of Japanese parents send their 3-year-old to pick up Sushi from a restaurant.

The toddler leaves home and walks to a restaurant located in Tokyo. Once there, he picks up the Sushi order, pays for it, and spontaneously decides to buy a toy with the spare change. All by himself.

I honestly couldn’t believe my eyes. Isn’t that reckless? Well, it is safe to assume that it depends on who you ask. And most importantly, where you ask that question.

The first errand

As surprising as it might be, the show’s concept is not new. It is indeed inspired by a famous Japanese TV show called “Hajimete no Otsukai”…

--

--

James Blekking
A Parent Is Born

I help you become a more successful and prolific digital writer. I also enjoy writing about life and parenthood. Let’s enjoy life.