Why I Finally Stopped Worrying if My Daughter Was Lonely at College

Human Nature - Laura G Owens - Writer
A Parent Is Born
Published in
7 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

Image credit

Parents, I’ve been there. Your child heading off to college.

Your heart hurts. You envision the worst.

Back when my daughter started college (she’s 26 now) she was a little shy. I worried if she’d make friends. If she’d be lonely, anxious, depressed. She masks well.

Tina’s our only child, so as empty nesters, leaving home felt especially bittersweet. A phase of our parenting life over for good.

The first semester of college life is hard on everyone. Surreal in its blend of excitement and sadness and worry.

For your child college is an abrupt rip from everything she’s known. New environment, new friends, new daily routine. Quasi adulting.

But in time they develop a new maturity and confidence. It’s subtle. But you’ll begin to notice a difference, and you’ll exhale. I promise.

My story.

Don’t,” I tell myself as my eyes well. Let your face reveal that this is right, that your daughter will be fine in college. My biggest worry besides rapists and shootings and drugged solo cups is she’ll be lonely. Tina is a little shy, an introvert, not one to reach out to people.

--

--

Human Nature - Laura G Owens - Writer
A Parent Is Born

Obsessed with human behavior. Social commentary & essays of stark honesty. Sarcasm is my super power. 15 years writing about mind & body natural health.