A Funny Feeling

Elrica Tanu
ON AND OFF
Published in
1 min readMay 24, 2020

I breathed in deeply.

It’s still there.

The dull ache in my chest wouldn’t go away.

I googled “heart attack signs” and mulled over the first search result:

Pressure, tightness, pain, or a squeezing or aching sensation in your chest or arms that may spread to your neck, jaw or back.

Okay.

I immediately excused myself from what I was doing and took a cab to the nearest clinic.

But my heart was fine. It was most likely a panic attack.

I never did figure out what triggered it. I wasn’t stressed. Or at least I wasn’t conscious of being stressed.

Is it possible to have developed a phobia suddenly? But what was the phobia? I hadn’t done anything out of the ordinary.

It freaked me out.

Looking back, that should have been my first clue that something was wrong.

The tremors confirmed it.

My name is Elrica. I am 35 years old and I have Parkinson’s Disease. This is part of a larger collection of writing that records my experience living with the neurological condition.

Clap if you liked the story. Share if it resonated. Follow me here on Medium or Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram if you want to be notified when new posts are up.

--

--

Elrica Tanu
ON AND OFF

I write so that life makes sense to me. And for now, that means working through what it means to live with Parkinson’s Disease. Based in Singapore.