Like A Punch In The Face

Elrica Tanu
ON AND OFF
Published in
1 min readMay 20, 2020

“Parkinson’s Disease… is incurable, right?”

I bit back panic as I wondered aloud.

A pause.

Dr H nodded. A bespectacled middle aged woman wearing a messy ponytail, the neurologist had the no-nonsense vibe of a physics teacher.

She said, “Yes, but it can be managed.”

I don’t remember what she said after that. I was momentarily besieged by memories of a frail, hunched woman.

I blurted out, “My grandma had Parkinson’s.”

Dr H nodded again, her fingers typing away. She wasn’t a chatterbox.

And neither was I that day.

I know I should have asked more questions but my mind was drawing a blank and my body so tense that my knuckles had turned white from clutching the armrest.

I left Dr H’s clinic in a daze.

My name is Elrica. I am 35 years old and I have Parkinson’s Disease. This is part of a larger collection of writing that records my experience living with the neurological condition.

Clap if you liked the story. Share if it resonated. Follow me here on Medium or Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram if you want to be notified when new posts are up.

--

--

Elrica Tanu
ON AND OFF

I write so that life makes sense to me. And for now, that means working through what it means to live with Parkinson’s Disease. Based in Singapore.