A House on the Fence

Serah Eley
A Particle and a Wave
1 min readAug 31, 2018

Let’s be clear: I identify mostly as a magical hippie chick, with a side of geek. I went to an engineering school and started the Pagan club there. I dig spirituality. But I have trouble respecting my New Age brethren and sistren who either don’t believe in an objective physical reality, or believe it can be swayed by their opinions. That’s a hazardous failure to pay attention.

I have even less respect for the neorational “skeptical” zealots on the other side, who know that there IS an objective physical reality but are convinced their personal opinions and cultural biases are fully grounded in its laws. The ones who’ll lecture about teapots in space and what to do about poor people with equal smugness. That’s a hazardous failure to pay attention topped by being assholes.

If I had to pick between the two, I would take the woo, because mystics are nicer and throw better parties. But I would rather explore the middle ground. Have science draw the boundaries, and let belief and personal narrative roam free within them. I want to build my house on a concrete foundation of reality, decorate the inside with any fantasy I feel like, and live in it happily.

--

--

Serah Eley
A Particle and a Wave

Functional multiple, transgender hippie chick, not as interesting as you are but WAY more interesting than the people who annoy you.