Allegheny Commons and Ugly HDR

February 9, 2012

Weston Powers
A Photo and a Memory
1 min readMay 25, 2023

--

Yike. Yikes. Yikes.

I’ve got one useful eye and the strain of this photo might be what gets me to go blind. I get it though, when I was young and discovering HDR as that “it” factor for landscapes I had no idea what the fuck I was doing with it. So I had to learn as I learn best: by failing. Understanding what does and doesn’t work, owning up to the ugly and overly processed and keeping that shame in the back of my mind as I’d aspire for something better. Sorry for the run-on sentence before. My eye is focused on the words flowing across the screen instead of looking up. Dredging whatever memory I can find for this photograph and all I can recall is that I was on a walk through Allegheny Commons with my camera.

If you made it this far.

Congratulations. You can close this window.

--

--

Weston Powers
A Photo and a Memory

Service industry lifer, failed artist and coffee drinker.