Pittsburgh Union Station

October 22nd, 2012

Weston Powers
A Photo and a Memory
2 min readMay 11, 2023

--

In 2012 I was into architectural photography since it allowed me to do the whole photography thing without having to talk to people. Awestruck by the abundance of building diversity within Pittsburgh (I still am) and my lack of confidence. I became obsessed with composure and the interplay of light off buildings and landscapes. Quickly understanding the beauty of “magic hour” and the crispness of f/8 so when it came time to do assignments for The Art Institute of Pittsburgh I was able to do something different than my peers who were photographing people (guess who hasn’t made a living off photography?).

Different is what I found myself doing here: asking Aaron and Ben for assistance to work two strobes to “paint” the Union Station. With each photograph capturing another “fill” that’d be merged in post-production for a final composite. Getting the colors and details just right. My friends unable to see the final shot, yet willing to help me all the same: trusting my vision. It would end up being the most successful thing I’d shoot because of how different it was from my usual isolation.

Looking back I should have leaned deeper into what worked so well in this shoot to pivot from landscapes into more detail and focus with my work.

The result

--

--

Weston Powers
A Photo and a Memory

Service industry lifer, failed artist and coffee drinker.