Some Thoughts on the Future

Weston Powers
A Photo and a Memory
2 min readJun 1, 2023

When I started this blog about three months ago I had originally thought of this as an idea and an exercise to rediscover my writing voice by recounting my past through the seemingly endless photographs. Waking up each morning with a coffee and some time before Pittsburgh awoke to dig deep within myself to find something worth talking about. Stepping away for a few days like I have to spend time with a dear friend and adventure throughout Pennsylvania got me thinking about what else I could write about. What I can do to continue that creative spark that was lit from the original idea from this blog.

I came to two ideas.

  1. What Drives (or Inspires) Me: Anyone who has had the (mis)fortune of meeting me knows just how random I can be. Whether it be a friend, potential partner, puppy or whomever: I can be a lot. How’d I get this way?
    Typing that. Yeah, that’s narcissism. I’ve been trying to work on that. Which means this idea is no longer at play.
  2. Propaganda: Not just the name of a God-tier Battlefield map, but the influence of culture through an image, song, movie, poster or idea. Curated to move the society. What is the history behind, in and after it? Point being is that I’m a goddamn history nerd and I’ve been itching to read and research to write more long-form. Away from the blurbs of A Photo and a Memory.

So idea 2.

Yeah, in the back of my head I’m hoping to do one post a week starting from when my vacation officially ends on Saturday. Inspired by the podcasts and documentaries I love. I think this blog will continue but it will be less random and more targeted towards specific moments so when I die (providing the Internet is still around and the cost to host this doesn’t bounce from my bank account) those I love can find this blog and get insight that they might never have heard from me.

Morbid?

Absolutely.

Should I buy a printer so the blog is in print?

Sure, why not?

After watching my Grandfather die of dementia and that history lost with him I think the idea of self-preservation is something worth pursuing. This space is coming into clarity as a resource to preserve my own history.

--

--

Weston Powers
A Photo and a Memory

Service industry lifer, failed artist and coffee drinker.