Exploring My Community

Sophie Lowen
A practical guide to resilience process
2 min readSep 22, 2020

I just recently moved to a new apartment and neighborhood in Brooklyn so I thought I would looking into my community and see what is on my Community boards minds.

I found out I am part of Brooklyn Community District 1. At first glance the stats seem pretty accurate from what I know of williamsburg. The majority of peoples ages are mid 20s -40s.

I then looked to see what the Community Boards main concerns were and I saw 3 listed as pressing issues. They were:

  1. Affordable Housing
  2. Land use trends (zoning, development, neighborhood preservation, etc.)
  3. Senior Services

These are all very relevant issues and based on the stats I saw on the rest of the dashboard they made sense being listed under pressing issues. I was curious what the board is doing about these issues so I went to their website.

Screenshot of projects on Brooklyn Community Board 1 website

I was plesantly surprised to see these issues already have projects that are being addressed by the community board. The first two projects listed are for resources to find affordable housing and a list of programs that help Aging New yorkers. The one point that wasn’t dealt with through a project yet was land use trends. Gentrification is a major concern and so far I don’t see how the community board is addressing it.

I tried to find when the next community board meeting is taking place but so far have not been able to due to no meetings being on the calendar. I will keep my eye out for the future though!

--

--