5/30

What are your favorite comfort foods and why

Dani N.
A Process of Discovery
2 min readJun 30, 2016

--

The following is a listicle of photos detailing a few of my favorite comfort foods (not listed: REAL spaghetti like Grandma used to make it…and pizza of any kind…as long as it has only pepperoni on it, because I’m 4 at heart). I find it interesting that the prompt poses: “WHY?” I don’t know what makes a food comforting. I also find it interesting that my most comforting foods tend to cause the most discomfort.

ICE CREAM!
Bar food. Grease…on top of beef…on top of fluffy carb cushions…smothered in a sharp cheddar. No lettuce, tomato, onion…keep the veggies far, far away. And those fries? (Technically a veggie? Yes?) I can take them or leave them. Though I love a good baked potato…or even a skillet-fried potato…french fries aren’t really my thing.
Coffee. I find comfort in coffee. And unsweetened iced tea. But mostly coffee.
I made this the other day, and my body responded in a way that which I was not prepared for. It’s peanut butter…powdered sugar…graham crackers…butter…and chocolate. I took a couple bites and it made me feel borderline intoxicated. Tried again the next day, same result. So, being the wonderfully thoughtful that person I am, I took them to my friends to see if it was just me or if the peanut butter was contaminated with some awful bacteria and I’d missed a recall. Luckily for them (and me), I think my body has become accustomed to not being constantly polluted with such massive amounts of sugar. Maybe. I don’t know. I’m obviously not a doctor. But that’s the only thing I could think of. Plus…WebMD.
These did not make me feel intoxicated. They’re made from ricotta and lemon and they are amazing.
Soft pretzels. And cheese. Carbs. Dipped in fat. NomNomNom. And that’s Journey’s ice cream. But in it is chocolate. And chocolate is very comforting. I feel as though it can be listed twice for emphasis.
I really like this carbs dipped in fat theme. I often sub plain Greek yogurt for sour cream, but true comfort foods call for the real deal. And Spanish Gardens is the way to be, for sure. Lastly, those chips are of the BAKED line…and they are so tasty.
I took a top-shot so you can’t judge me for how large the bowl actually is. P.S. My countertops look dirty. Ick.
Lastly: To restore my aching belly back to comfort from the discomfort of all my favorite comforting foods.

--

--