Things I’ve Learned Over the Weekend

And may expand upon at a later date

Dani N.
A Process of Discovery
2 min readApr 25, 2016

--

My kids, even as young as 5 months old, will wonder why Mom has to be such a weirdo, constantly snapping pictures all the time.
I had a dream that my baby’s first real word(s) was “excuse me”…because he wanted people to pay attention to him. I’m not really sure what I learned; therefore, unsure of how it applies to this listicle…but…here it sits, comfortably, at #2.
Less is more when landscaping. We removed items- some dead in patches, others dead all over…and I feel like I can breathe easier when looking at the front of my home now.
She’s 5 and has impeccable sense in style.
Until I took this selfie to show my mom the shirt I found for the Journey concert, I didn’t realize that it had a very confederate flag feel to it. Upon noticing, I felt like I needed to tell every person I passed on the trail, “Hi. I’m not a racist.”
I thought, “Self, you’re an adult. Fantasia will no longer be terrifying.” I was incorrect in this assumption.
To be the skinny girl exercising in public, I have to be the chubby girl exercising in public for a while. And that’s okay. (Note to skinny people: Do NOT comment, “It’s not about being SKINNY; It’s about being HEALTHY!” You’re allowed to comment that when you’ve been 40, 50, 90, 115 pounds over your ideal body weight…lost it all, and thought to yourself, “You know…I feel fabulous now…but I looked so much more attractive with those 75 additional pounds.” Though being healthy sounds super, at this particular point in my life, I wanna look into the mirror and have my reflection evoke a positive emotion. I just wanna be skinny. Period.)
Whipped peanut butter is AMAZING.
I bought something that I thought was a tiny banana. And then I thought it was a plantain…because I remembered reading that word (which I’d never seen before) on the basket that I plucked them from (.99 at HyVee, just in case you were curious…you won’t be in a second). But I just Googled “plantain”…and Google shows plantains as much larger than bananas. What I bought were itty, bitty ‘naners, and they were awful. I’m almost 125% sure that it is the nastiest thing I’ve ever put in my mouth while expecting it to be tasty. I literally cried the entire car ride home from the grocery store, because I couldn’t swallow…It felt like my mouth had been coated in velvet. Ew. Gross. Ick. I can’t write about it without gagging.

--

--