A Cup Of Tea

Chetan Batra
A Short Story
Published in
3 min readJul 19, 2017

I recently became friend with Apurv, a seven year old boy. I saw him selling hand made toys at the traffic signal, he offered me to buy them. I felt sorry for him, wasn’t interest to buy as I was living alone in this city, no one was their in my house who could play with the toy. Instead, I gave him 100 rupees and asked to keep it.

I was surprised when Apurv returned the money, and told me, ‘We people work hard and earn money, we never exploit … Sir. We believe in ourselves’. I was impressed with his thoughts about life, a kid of seven years was matured enough to learn about harsh realities. I was pretty amazed with his impeccable manners, he told me further about his family, his mother, his father. He told me that his father runs a tea stall, he in-turn invited to his father’s stall to have a cup of tea. I couldn’t resist saying yes to him, he asked to have for the thing I love the most. ‘Tea’, I said gluing in excitement.

After 2–3 minutes, I was walking in the junks of the city market. The area never seen or observed by anyone. Everything was available here, taking from gifts to groceries. The mini street was sparkling in different colored lights, every person was selling some of their items whether made by them or purchased through other means. They seemed very much engaged in their day to day routine. The moving story of their doomed love affair with the passion inspired me.

Apurv introduced me to his father, I readily calculate through his face expression that he was delighted to meet me and serve the tea. He cleaned up a bench with his handkerchief, and asked me to sit.

I saw him serving the pipping hot, sweet and milky tea to everyone. His art of masterfully ‘pulls’ tea between the two large steel cups, which helped the beverage cool down slightly before poured into individual glasses. I experienced a gentility, they offered me the cookies along the tea not to the other customers.

I always care which tea suits my style, I proudly say that this tea enriched my experience forever. It was the best tea I ever had in my life, marvelous. This tea deserved a slow, and a meaningful light of joy in every sip….

‘How much for this?’, I asked Apurv

‘No… Sir… you have it… its free for you’, He replied

I did’t insist him take the money instead I asked him something.

‘Apurv… do you believe in God?’

‘Yes’, he said

I smiled and I took out a 2000 rupees note from my wallet, and kept it his shirt's side pocket.

‘Its for you… God sent me this for you… keep it’, I snuffed and moved along.

Each cup of tea reflects an imaginary voyage. Life is just like a cup of tea, it depends how you make it.

If you enjoy reading my stuff, please do click the green heart below and do check out my other blogs.

Thank You

--

--

Chetan Batra
A Short Story

Writer. Lawyer. Creative. Write To Make A Different Move. Author of 2 Books.