My bucket list before turning 30

Shuang Li
A side project called life

--

I turned 26 the past week. It was the first time I seriously felt the clock was ticking — stepping into the second half of my 20s means 30 is just around the corner. As much as I am enjoying the work I am doing, the life I am living and the people around me at this very moment, there are many things I urge to do when I still have the energy, time and freedom.

Inspired by my friend Zhenshuo’s “The panic list of 30 before 30”, I created my own bucket list. Topics of the list touch on adventures, fitness, personal growth, etc, with the idea to focus on experiences that I want to accomplish and goals I care to achieve. Some I have already accomplished in the past few years, which I just added checkmarks and timestamps.

I will come back to update once I check off any more goals from this list.

So here it is (this list is being updated as I make progress):

  1. visit 20 countries (progress: 19. China, Japan, United States, Canada, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Vatican City, Spain, France, Belgium, Malta, United Kingdom, Iceland, Germany, Austria, Panama, Brazil)
  2. go for a long-distance (15 miles+) hike
  3. explore a rain forest ✔ (12/2014 El Yunque, Puerto Rico)
  4. fly in a helicopter
  5. go caving ✔ (4/2016 Laurel Caverns, PA)
  6. try paragliding or hang-gliding ✔ (4/2019 Rio, Brzil)
  7. ride a camel
  8. own a house with ample natural light ✔(7/2017 Pittsburgh, PA)
  9. see the northern lights ✔ (11/2011 Kiruna, Sweden)
  10. see glowing fish ✔ (12/2014 Vieques Bioluminescent Bay)
  11. own a corgi ✔ (11/2018 Elfo)
  12. finish a 100-day craft project (some ideas: watercolor, zentangle, sketching, stop motion)
  13. take aerial silks class
  14. move to a new city ✔ (1/2018 to Mountain View, CA)
  15. sell a piece of artwork I made ✔(Sold illustrations on Creative Market)
  16. invent something
  17. file a patent ✔ (08/2014 capstone project at cmu mhci)
  18. give a talk in my field in front of an audience of 100 people
  19. build a paradise for my chinchillas ✔ (like this)
  20. travel to a country and speaks its own language whenever possible ✔ (10/2018 Germany)
  21. handwrite invitations with wax seal ✔ (04/2016)
  22. volunteer 5 times (2 times completed)
  23. do a cross-country road trip ✔ (07/2017 Drove around the ring road of Iceland)
  24. Watch the Olympic Games in person ✔ (08/2008 Beijing, Track and Field)
  25. downsize to a minimalist closet ✔ (01/2018 moving to the bay area)
  26. start a fun collection (to not conflict with #25, definitely not a collection of clothes :) ✔ (Google Android Figurines, Starbucks city mugs)
  27. write 20 blog posts (progress: 5 on Medium)
  28. visit a lighthouse ✔ (07/2017 Iceland)
  29. drive somewhere far by myself ✔ (2/2017 4-hour drive from Pittsburgh to DC)
  30. run a half-marathon (I hate running, which makes this goal harder than it seems. However, I still consider it as a milestone I challenge myself to accomplish)

--

--

Shuang Li
A side project called life

Interaction designer @ Google, previously at IBM Watson and CMU MHCI. Parent of a corgi and two chinchillas.