10 Most Empowering Songs for Women

Erica Gustafson
A Sign on the Door
Published in
8 min readMar 1, 2022

Music speaks to the soul, and these songs can act as your best “hype man.”

Photo by Soundtrap on Unsplash

Music is one of those things that I could not imagine life without. It is a way to communicate unlike any other and you don’t always need words. With the countless number of music genres, there are in the world today, people of all ages and backgrounds enjoy the different beats.

Though I could go on and on about the different uses for music in today’s society, I want to focus on one in particular. Music is a way for people to empower themselves and each other in different situations. Specifically, it can empower women.

I stand beside millions of other women out there who agree that life is not always easy. There are times when we feel like nothing is going to help and life is just too hard. However, music can sometimes help. It gives our minds and hearts a break from all of the outside noise and puts us in a little world of our own. Mine comes especially when I am working out.

I am completely self-conscious of my own body and don’t have a good self-image. It can be extremely hard for me to work out when I don’t feel good about myself or what is going on in my life at that time. Music is my release. I have this playlist on my phone that I call my “Workout Pump Up.” It has over 80 songs on it that just motivate me to push myself beyond when my mind tells me it’s time to stop. I don’t just listen to it when I am working out, though. I listen to it any time when I need to motivate myself to work, study, clean, etcetera.

Music is a tool unlike any other, and I want to share some of the best songs that can really empower and motivate you as a woman.

To disclose, these songs are just my opinion, and they are in no order. These are just songs that really make me realize how amazing I am alongside other women and the power we do have. I hope you agree.

1 Sorry Not SorryDemi Lovato

This song is everything! Officially being released in July of 2017, Demi Lovato made a statement. They were sick of the “haters” coming at them in their life and was over it. This song has been a staple for me in my life since it first came out. I remember watching Demi on different television shows and movies, and they were always an inspiration for me. This song was no disappointment. It is a song to remind you how strong and capable you really are. This is a song to hype you up in any environment and remind yourself that you are a bad queen. “I’m not sorry” in the chorus reminds us that we never should be sorry for being ourselves and knowing how confident we should be.

2 Confident – Demi Lovato

Speaking of confidence, Demi brings that with another song of hers that was released in October 2015. Not only does this song demonstrate Demi’s vocal abilities as an incredible artist, but it represents so much more. They talk about being confident and owning yourself. They stand up in this song, showing power and assurance in themself. Women of all ages and others can really use this song to boost their own confidence. It’s about knowing that you are the “boss right now” of your own life, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.

3 Good As HellLizzo

Lizzo is an absolute powerhouse of a role model, and this song is just one example of this. Good as Hell is a motivating and inspiring song that can get you strutting your stuff anywhere you may be. It’s about holding your head high and knowing that you are better than any crap people throw at you.

Personally, this song hits hard for me when I am getting ready in the morning or walking on the treadmill. Lyrics like “If he don’t love you anymore, just walk you fine a** out the door” and “Boss up and change your life. You can have it all, no sacrifice” speak for themselves. It’s about empowerment and self-love that every woman has the right to feel.

4 Truth Hurts — Lizzo

Lizzo is at it again. Originally released in 2017, and then again in 2019, millions of people find confidence throughout this song. Lizzo speaks the truth about never settling for less than you deserve in relationships and never letting a man tell you who and what you are.

I once sat down, and another girl told me that I needed to lower my standards to get more men in my life. This song makes me think of that moment a lot. I just told her that my standards were there for a reason, and it is not my high standards for men that are the problem. When the time comes for the right man, I will know it. Until then, I am going to continue being the amazing woman I am who doesn’t need a man to be happy.

That is the goal for all women. We don’t need a man in our lives to be happy, and they don’t define who we are.

5 Boys Will Be BoysDua Lipa

This singer-songwriter addresses the fears and concerns women have living in today’s oppressive patriarchal attitudes. The phrase “boys will be boys” seems to have been around forever, and there is no escape. It is an excuse used by people of all genders to justify men’s inappropriate behavior. I’m sick of it, and Dua Lipa made a point. She talks about how women have been conditioned to hide our figures, fear walking along, and laugh things off when they offend us, or else we will be deemed too emotional. The beauty in the song is the chorus that assures us that “boys will be boys, but girls will be women.” Some boys will act like adolescent, immature children a good amount of time, but we will stand tall as strong, intelligent, and capable women who fight.

I don’t know about other women, but this song makes me feel better. I feel a lot of these insecurities, and this song reminds me that boys may be boys, but I am more. I am powerful and mighty myself. If you don’t listen to this, I suggest you give it a try.

6 LBPAint Afraid Ft. Ventaged

Though this was released in July of 2020, I didn’t discover this song until the middle of 2021 through TikTok. Aint Afraid is a movement and artist group that “are dedicated to empowering, inspiring, and motivating the Jennah-ration (Generation) and people all over the world in goodness.”

This is one of those songs that I listen to at least once every day of my life. It even starts off strong with “All my ladies. Loud, proud, and can’t be shut down.” It later packs a punch by saying, “No you can’t touch my crown. I was raised to use my voice, so you will hear this sound. Want a little pretty toy, something to boss around, hoping that it don’t make noise. But boy, That ain’t never been me.”

They push how strong women will never be silenced and that they are not going to be pushed around by men anymore. It doesn’t matter what your age, ethnicity, background, or religion is. This song can empower you. I just wish that I had heard it sooner in my life.

7 Man! I Feel Like a WomanShania Twain

In all honesty, I’m a country girl at heart and have been listening to county music since I can remember. Many people think that country music is just heartbreaks, tractors, and alcohol, but that is so misleading. There are country songs that are there to empower and inspire all genders. One influential artist is the one-and-only Shania Twain.

Though this song was released in March of 1999, the year I was born, it inspires me all of the time. The beauty of this song is that it’s just an upbeat track that really talks about how amazing it actually can be to be a woman. Alongside many things that can suck, she really brings out the fun in how independent, strong, and spontaneous women can be. It’s about self-empowerment. It’s about loving yourself for the woman you are. There’s beauty in “I feel like a woman.”

8 It’s ’Cause I AmCallista Clark

This song was just recently released a year ago, February 2021, from Clark. With a country vibe, It’s ’Cause I Am is full of female empowerment and self-love. This song just relays the fact that you should not apologize to any man for being yourself. It uses examples like “If I’m a little too salty, it’s ’cause you’re too sweet” and “You wish I was simple, but I’ll never be that.” The chorus just jumps out with “I can’t help that I’m one of a kind. I’m more than meets the eye. If I ain’t what you like, well, that’s alright.”

It’s a reminder to all women that you don’t need to apologize. If a man doesn’t want you for who you are or asks you to change who you are, he is probably not it. We do not settle for less simply because a man asks us to. We are way too amazing for that nonsense.

9 WomanKesha

This upbeat song may contain some profane language, but the message is clear as day. This 2017 song was released by Kesha in July and is described as “a funk-infused country/rock jam, lyrically exploding with female empowerment.” I could not agree more. The start of the song bursts with lyrics like “I buy my own things. I pay my own bills. These diamond rings. My automobiles. Everything I got, I bought it. Boys can’t buy my love.” That is in the first 15 seconds of the song.

This is the kind of song you scream with the windows down in your car if you are frustrated or need to remind yourself how incredible you are. It brings a smile to my face and gives me confidence every single time I hear it.

10 Run the WorldBeyoncé

Last but certainly not least is the Queen Bee herself. Beyoncé released this song in April 2011 and released it as the lead single from her album. It is all about girl power and taking over. Though our history may show otherwise, this song reminds us that women have power in many forms. Not only have we been fighting for our rights throughout most of history, but we continue to do things daily alongside men.

My favorite line of all time from this song says, “Boy, you know you love it how we’re smart enough to make these millions, strong enough to bear the children. Then get back to business.” This really can make you think about how amazing women really are. They work, literally carry and birth a living being, and go to work after. Even if they don’t go back to work at a business or company, they get to work taking care of a child, which is not an easy task.

It doesn’t matter who you are and what kind of music you like, this song is absolutely worth your time. It won’t disappoint.

As you probably know, this is not even a small fraction of the empowering and inspiring songs that are out there for us to enjoy. However, these songs, in particular, help my confidence and self-esteem. There are days when they actually give me goosebumps because of how much they represent what I’m feeling and how much I might need them in that situation. Music has that power. It can motivate, encourage, and remind us how amazing we are. You just need to take a minute to listen.

Going forward, give these songs a try and remember that you are an incredible and amazing woman.

--

--