9 Teen Movies to Watch Based on Olivia Rodrigo’s SOUR

These movies will make you feel like a teenager again, for better or for worse.

Jill Stebelton
A Sign on the Door
6 min readJun 15, 2021

--

A glass bowl filled with popcorn
Photo by Georgia Vagim on Unsplash

If you’re online as much as me, then you probably know that everyone and their moms can’t stop talking about Olivia Rodrigo’s debut album, SOUR. From the famous pop ballad “drivers license” to the pop-rock song “brutal,” I’m obsessed with her album right now. I turned 20 last year, so I’m technically no longer a teen, but I couldn’t help but relate to Olivia expressing her frustration with being a teenager. Vogue also summed up what I love about SOUR in a recent interview about her debut album.

For all its angst-riddled teenage catastrophism, though, the positive response to the album has been very much universal, with many noting its uncanny ability to transport you right back to the thick of the emotional turbulence of that life stage.

SOUR captures the teenage experience, and I thought to myself, what media better explores the teenage experience than movies?

Based on my constant streaming of Olivia Rodrigo and lots of “best teen movies ever made” lists, here are my teen movie recommendations inspired by nine songs from SOUR.

brutal

Movie to watch: The Edge of Seventeen (2016)

The Edge of Seventeen follows high school junior, Nadine. She’s felt alone ever since her father died of a heart attack when she was 13, leaving her in a strained relationship with her mom and brother, Darian. When her best friend Krista starts dating Darian, Nadine’s life is thrown into disarray as she learns how to deal with friendship, family, and first love.

“Brutal” is one of my favorite songs on SOUR. When Olivia says, “And I’m so sick of 17 / where’s my fucking teenage dream?” I immediately thought of Nadine. Both “brutal” and The Edge of Seventeen show disillusionment with youth. They respond to the romanticized teenage depictions that we see in the John Hughes-esque films. I think that explains why I enjoyed Nadine so much.

1 step forward, 3 steps back

Movie to watch: 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

10 Things I Hate About You is a rom-com retelling of William Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew set in 1990s Seattle. A boy interested in the popular sophomore Bianca Stratford learns that she can’t date until her older, cynical sister Kat does. He decides to pay the school’s “bad boy” Patrick Verona to pursue Kat, setting off a series of trials and errors to win her heart. The film also features the scene of Heath Ledger singing “Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You” which is a big plus.

Olivia sings in the chorus, “Do you love me, want me, hate me? / Boy, I don’t understand.” The thin line between love and hate that Olivia is frustrated about in “1 step forward, 3 steps back” explains what made Kat and Patrick’s relationship so compelling. It also gave the movie about bittersweet romance its iconic name.

deja vu

Movie to watch: Every Day (2018)

The movie follows A, a spirit who wakes up in a different teenage body every day. A falls in love with 16-year-old Rhiannon when they inhabit her boyfriend’s body. The two of them try to make their relationship work even if A cannot stay in the same body permanently.

In “deja vu,” Olivia asks her ex if he enjoys doing the same activities with his new girl. Rhiannon tries to maintain a relationship with A, the same soul who inhabits different people. (This comparison is more abstract than the others, but I hope you get where I’m coming from.) You’ll definitely get deja vu while watching Every Day.

good 4 u

Movie to watch: Jennifer’s Body (2009)

In the cult classic horror film, Jennifer Check becomes possessed by a succubus demon after an indie rock band performs a Satanic ritual on her. Jennifer’s best friend, Needy, attempts to save her friend and her town from the demon before it’s too late.

Many people caught possible references to Jennifer’s Body in her “good 4 u” music video after its release. The movie and song share aesthetic similarities such as cheerleading, the mirror image of Jennifer and Olivia swimming in a lake, and an unhinged vengeance against boys. (Olivia sets fire to her ex’s bedroom, after all.)

enough for you

Movie to watch: Lady Bird (2017)

Lady Bird explores the life of Christine “Lady Bird” McPherson, a high school student at a private school who just wants to escape her small, California town for college on the east coast. The movie follows her senior year as she navigates friendship, romance, family, and her future.

Lady Bird develops a relationship with Kyle, a cool student from the boys’ private school. She acts like someone else when she is with him, yet Kyle lies and dismisses her anyway. Their relationship reflects the lyrics, “And you always say I’m never satisfied / But I don’t think that’s true / ’Cause all I ever wanted was to be enough for you.” Luckily for Lady Bird, she didn’t need Kyle because she was enough for herself.

happier

Movie to watch: Love, Rosie (2014)

Love, Rosie follows best friends Alex and Rosie throughout their lives. It’s a classic portrayal of the popular “will they, won’t they?” trope as timing never seems right for the two of them to be together. But despite the distance, that doesn’t stop them from trying.

The chorus “I’m selfish, I know, I can’t let you go / So find someone great but don’t find no one better / I hope you’re happy, but don’t be happier” reminds me so much of Love, Rosie. Although Rosie and Alex attempt to support each other’s romantic relationships, they can’t help but wish it were the two of them instead.

jealousy, jealousy

Movie to watch: Eighth Grade (2018)

Eighth Grade takes place during Kayla’s last week of middle school as she attempts to make friends and cope with her anxiety, which she does by uploading self-help advice YouTube videos. The film explores teenage mental illness, social media, sexuality, and self-identity.

In “jealousy, jealousy,” Olivia compares herself to the “perfect” people on social media when she sings, “I think, I think too much / ‘Bout kids who don’t know me.” Kayla realizes that the YouTube version of her and her real-life self are two different people. Both “jealousy, jealousy” and Eighth Grade explores teenagers attempting to navigate their online and offline perception of themselves.

favorite crime

Movie to watch: Heathers (1989)

The cult classic Heathers follows high school senior Veronica who is friends with the original mean girls: the Heathers, but she becomes enamored with Jason “J.D.” Dean, who she soon learns is trying to murder her fellow students and vows to stop him.

“Favorite crime” is a metaphor for heartbreak, but its literal lyrics easily describe the 1980s classic with “I let you treat me like that /
I was your willing accomplice, honey” and “Oh the things I did / Just so I could call you mine.” And while I don’t suggest modeling your relationship goals around Veronica and J.D., this film is a must-see for any teen movie lover.

hope ur ok

Movie to watch: The Half of It (2020)

The Half of It centers on shy, straight-A student Ellie Chu who makes money by completing assignments for her classmates. But when school jock Paul offers to pay Ellie to write love letters to his crush, Aster, Ellie finds herself falling for Aster through their letters.

While The Half of It explores first love, it also explores family, friendship, and identity within a small town. In “hope ur ok,” Olivia wishes that her old friends with rough childhoods are doing better now despite losing touch with them. “Hope ur ok” is a soft, melancholic ballad that fits the somber mood of The Half of It.

I hope you either spotted some of your favorite teen films or found a new movie to watch this summer! If you need me, I’m going to get back to streaming SOUR and maybe rewatch a film or two.

--

--