How I Put Together a 35,000 Word Manuscript in 5 months

The support and accountability I needed to finish what I’ve been wanting to do all my life.

Jill Fredenburg
A Sign on the Door
Published in
7 min readMar 23, 2020

--

Photo: edgar/Pixabay/Free for Commercial Use

I am currently in the process of marketing a book that I wrote last fall. I started it in late-August. From the research behind the stories within this now 40,000 word manuscript, to the interviews and the editing process, I am going to share what the process to get to this point looked like and how I was able to accomplish this so quickly while working 30 hours a week and taking a full-time course load. Why? Because it was more rewarding than I could have imagined, and I’m certain that the more self or partially self-published work there is available, the more access we will all have to important stories we would have missed if they hadn’t been published.

The Preparation

The first step wasn’t immediately writing every single day. While I doubt that would have hurt, I wanted to have at least a muddled understanding of how my book was meant to look and feel for the people who would eventually purchase copies for their own. I pulled up a Word document and typed out some basic notes about who I wanted my audience to be and what I wanted them to gain from the book.

--

--

Jill Fredenburg
A Sign on the Door

Author of LGBTQ+ Revolution 2.0 & occasional YouTube content creator 🏳️‍🌈 https://linktr.ee/JillFredenburg