Photographer Sebastian Garcia on imagination, the future of social media, and taking time away from negative news.

Gazet
A Slow News Day
Published in
5 min readSep 5, 2018

💥Welcome to The Overlooked. A bi-weekly segment featuring a diverse range of voices discussing what it means to be in media today, what might disrupt the market, and how we are getting our news. 😎

Photograph by Sebastian Garcia.

Meet Sebastian Garcia, in his words:

Photographer Sebastian Garcia

I’ve always had an immense amount of energy so I’m always doing something. I am twenty-seven years old from a small town in Southern California. I love sports, cooking, and projects that allow me to focused and busy. After finishing high school, I went off to college and received my degree in Film & Media Studies from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Upon graduating, I dabbled in the entertainment world, making small appearances on hit television shows, How To Get Away With Murder and Grey’s Anatomy. Fast forward a few years, I am now a full time photographer.

GAZET: Nice, can’t help but wonder if we saw you in either of those shows! Are there any social causes or movements you pay a lot of attention too?

As someone who loves to travel, I tend to gravitate towards social causes that aide in the growth of communities and environmental issues. I use to be a volunteer for school programs that would offer opportunities to give back to the community and the environment, such as tree planting, beach clean ups, and mentorship.

GAZET: Love that. We need to see more organizations and people actively making a different for the environment. So to the hard hitting question — what do you think of the media today?

Photograph by Sebastian Garcia

There’s no way I can ignore what is going on in the media today. If it’s not one thing, it’s another and we all know this. But in all honesty, I try not to focus my mind or energy on negative subjects. I’m casually aware but not heavily involved.

But in all honesty, I try not to focus my mind or energy on negative subjects. I’m casually aware but not heavily involved.

GAZET: At Gazet we like to talk about the internet in a way separate to media — like for example, what do you learn about and really spend your time invested in exploring. That brings us to our next question, how do you balance between utilizing social media for work and not spending too much time on the screen?

Photograph by Sebastian Garcia

When balancing the utilization of social media and trying not to spend too much time glued to a screen, I always make sure I stay organized and manage my time effectively. It’s very easy to get lost in the digital world so I make sure that I set internal time limits so that I know just how much time I have to be effective. In line with this, I make sure I get exercise in my daily routine and if possible, books and podcasts. This allows me to take a break from the screen.

GAZET: Setting time limits is smart. Any guesses on what the future looks like for social media?

I think social media is here to stay. Yes, apps will die but new apps will come. I think we’re heading in an interesting direction though. Right now, there’s familiarity with visuals on our screens. I’ve mentioned this before and I’ve begun to see the subtle signals but I believe that an audio world will start to mesh with social media, followed by augmented reality.

Right now, there’s familiarity with visuals on our screens. I’ve mentioned this before and I’ve begun to see the subtle signals but I believe that an audio world will start to mesh with social media, followed by augmented reality.

GAZET: Yes! Augmented reality is definitely going to change social media! Speaking of different types of media… Do you have a favorite meme or two?

Two of my favorite memes is the Willy Wonka sarcastic meme and the Keanu Reeves one. I actually don’t use a lot of memes though. I’m huge on GIFs.

GAZET: Of course, we should have said gifs too! Is there a viral trend that you have been really fascinated by recently?

A somewhat viral trend that I’ve been fascinated with recently has been the introduction of Birds. I feel like they suddenly “showed up”. Now with this as another method of easy transportation (uber/lyft), I’m interested to see how this effects people’s health. It makes me wonder if we’re headed to world similar to the Disney film, “Wall-E”.

GAZET: Creatively — where do you go to for inspiration?

Creatively, I seek inspiration from magazines, museums, films, music, and most importantly, my imagination. I’ve always been very imaginative and I’ve had some quality time training my eyes to the see the world differently.

Here’s a Gazet issue on finding creative inspiration.

Photograph by Sebastian Garcia

I’ve always been very imaginative and I’ve had some quality time training my eyes to the see the world differently.

GAZET: Any favorite up and coming creatives you’d like to shout out?

Definitely! I really enjoy work from Joe Greer, Matt Gee, Sabrina Araujo, and Adrienne Raquel.

GAZET: What do you typically read in a week? Where do you do your reading?

Typically I like to read self-help and positive books. If I do small readings within the week, I like to stay up to date with sports, technology news, and travel. I do this reading on my News App on my iPhone.

Sebastian published an issue on Gazet about reading — check it out here.

GAZET: What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on rebranding myself as a photographer. Besides that, I am also working diligently on my new small business of a creative agency, called Duality.

This article is brought to you by the Gazet team. Learn more, create an account, and start sharing your issues here! 👋

Make sure to follow along with Sebastian Garcia on Instagram.

Photo by Sebastian Garcia

--

--

Gazet
A Slow News Day

Your world, edited. Gazet is a community of writers and experts. Curate your world with Gazet. Collect / Share / Discover. 👇