Things in Chicago I miss and things I wish to forget

breeanelyse
Muse & Method
Published in
1 min readJan 31, 2017

About 2 weeks before we moved our lives to the middle of rural Illinois, I made two lists:

  1. Things I’ll miss about living in Chicago
  2. Things I can’t wait to forget about living in Chicago

I figured it would be interesting to come back to my list several months or even a year after jotting it down to see if I felt the same way.

Things I’ll miss…

  • Tree lined streets
  • Walks after dinner
  • Hustle and bustle
  • Walking neighborhoods
  • The beginning of summer
  • Access to almost anything
  • DELIVERY
  • Coffee shops
  • Grocery store variety
  • Creativity
  • A sense that anything is possible
  • Good alcohol
  • Lake Shore Drive
  • The fast pace of work
  • Yarn shops!
  • Specialty shops in general
  • Tattoo studios
  • Street art
  • Farmer’s markets
  • Shopping

Things I can’t wait to forget…

  • Traffic
  • Public transit
  • People
  • The smells
  • Neighbors
  • Off leash dogs
  • Noise
  • Construction
  • Parking, or lack thereof
  • Solicitors
  • Violence
  • Poverty
  • Festivals
  • Consumerism
  • Crowded stores
  • Crowds in general
  • Tourists

Thanks for reading!

--

--

breeanelyse
Muse & Method

I design training & mentorship programs that change minds & build mastery: Conversation Skills, Habits & Self-Awareness habitsatwork.com museandmethod.com