3 Ways to Beat Overthinking

Hapijur Rahaman
A Smiling World
2 min readJan 15, 2023

--

That’s how these 3 ways help me beat overthinking…

Graphic by author
Graphic by author

1️⃣ 5 Seconds Rule by Mel Robbins

Using the Rule is simple.

> To begin, count backward: 5–4–3–2–1.

Counting serves as a distraction from anxieties, thoughts, and fears and helps me concentrate on the objective or commitment.

Every time I apply the Rule, it works.

The most crucial component of this rule is actual physical movement. Your physiology changes when you move, and your mind adapts as well.

“I was the problem and in five seconds, I could push myself and become the solution.” Mel Robbins.

Graphic by author

2️⃣Replace “what if” with “we’ll see”

Of course, not everything will go right. There will be misery, suffering so on and so forth, but that’s something for the future.

Why waste my mental peace thinking about it in the present?

I stopped overthinking and do things that I always want to do.

You never know till you try.

Graphic by author

3️⃣ 70–20–10 Rule

Quantity is the secret to producing quality. That is a fact, and I’m happy I recognised it.

70% of your work will be average

20% of your work will be bad

10% of your work will be perfect.

Of course, quality >quantity any day but,

without quantity, quality❌ is hard to achieve.

Ok, here’s a bonus one

4️⃣ Get outside and play.

Instead of spending so much time in my head I go outside and play with my hands and legs.

By this I mean stop spending so much time in your head. Get outside and switch gears to connect with what’s going on around me.

I do things that make you feel good. Be it a sport, going on a ride, hanging out with friends, whatever.

P.S. Would like to connect with me? If yes, then-

Linkedin

e-mail

--

--

Hapijur Rahaman
A Smiling World

Hello there🙋 Greetings from Hapijur. I am an enterpriser and investor by profession and a writer by devotion