idiosyncrasy

A Smiling World Challenge: 10 Things About Me

Do I really want to reveal my craziness?

A Smiling World
Published in
6 min readAug 20, 2023

--

I wanted to look a bit arrogant here. Did I make it? Photo credit: me.

Foreword: I dedicate this article to my daughter Lily who was more than eager to help me create the silliest photos ever, and told me she would be the first to clap for the story when it comes out.

When Veronica Llorca-Smith announced her new competition, I told myself, ‘You can’t miss it!’ However, coming up with ten things about me that are not totally boring proved quite challenging. Finally, to be on the safe side, I settled on the crazy part of me. That one is never boring.

  1. My biggest dream that somehow never comes true is to drive a car.

Yes, I know it sounds crazy. Because it is crazy. When I took my license shortly after my 18th birthday, I started driving my dad’s car. In a blink, it vanished into thin air, pilfered by some crafty car thief, leaving me without a set of keys to call my own. Two years later my boyfriend bought a car, and I was just about to turn driving into my Olympic sport when someone crashed into his baby while it was parked outside his office. Boom, no wheels for me again.

Long years followed without driving. When my husband bought our colossal family beast, our beloved Ford, I had already forgotten everything about wheels…

--

--

A Smiling World

A writer of evocative fiction and introspective personal essays.