Cloud kitchen

Cloud Kitchen Chronicles: A Great Experience Near Home

The Art of Enjoying a Cloud Kitchen Nearby

Jayasudha
Published in
3 min readAug 5, 2024

--

Having a cloud kitchen in close proximity to my home is really an exhilarating experience. The kitchen emerged during the pandemic, when the concept was gathering steam. Though it is located a few streets away from my residence, the rear portion of the building that houses the kitchen, abuts my compound wall.

I would enjoy the nice aroma wafting through the massive chimneys. Thankfully, it’s a vegetarian kitchen, hence, I don’t have to endure disgusting miasma.

Photo by Rune Enstad on Unsplash

The chief chef would use loud speakers to instruct his assistants. At times, he even gives a detailed explanation of the recipes. All the households around the kitchen can clearly hear his announcements.

As a foodie and an avid food blogger, I make note of new recipes and try it out immediately. The kitchen opens at eight in the morning and downs its shutters by 8pm.

The building was previously used as a storage area prior to the kitchen. During the pandemic, everyone started wielding the ladle and churning out numerous recipes.

But for those who are inept at cooking, this kitchen was really a boon. In addition to the delicious food, people felt a connection with the kitchen because of its homey flavours. Within a short span of time, it garnered huge footfall. The foodie within me urged me to eat the food right away. I had no idea where the kitchen was located, but I made it there.

Photo by Gayatri Malhotra on Unsplash

When I entered the precincts of the kitchen, the welcoming aroma of ghee, cardamom and cheese greeted me. I ordered my favourite food and took it home with me.

When I savored the food, I realized that the Flavors were not only mesmerizing to my olfactory senses, but they impressed my taste buds to a great extent!

One day, I woke up to a deafening silence in the air. I was curiously searching for the reason behind it. I learned that the kitchen had permanently closed its shutters and a new tailoring unit was taking its place soon.

Photo by Samuel Cruz on Unsplash

Just like any other mortal being, the kitchen was unable to withstand the winds of change.

Though it would be a permanent respite from the blaring announcements and the clinking noise of vessels. I will definitely be running out of cooking ideas and recipes. I am going to miss the kitchen a lot!

--

--

Jayasudha
A Smiling World

I'm a freelance writer. I love to write about topics that piques my interest.