How I Got A Book Deal With The World’s Top Publisher Penguin: The Sexy Story (And The Unsexy One)

What people don’t want to hear

Veronica Llorca-Smith
A Smiling World
Published in
6 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Woman posing with a transparent white dress and a hat
Photo by Leo_Visions on Unsplash

“How did you do it?”

“Do you have any tips?

“How do you pitch to a major publisher?”

Earlier this week, I announced my first publishing deal with Penguin Random House, one of the Big Five in the industry.

I posted it on LinkedIn and Substack, and while the response and support were incredible, the pile of messages asking for tips and advice was overwhelming.

Substack Note

People wanted to know the story.

So here it is…

The sexy story

In December 2023, I started to think about my goals for 2024.

As a triathlete, I’m big on goal-setting because I need to visualize the finish line in order to build motivation and accountability.

My goal #1 was to publish a book with one of the Big Five.

I didn’t know how or where to start, but I knew what my finish line looked like. From there, I had to…

--

--