If Something Doesn’t Fit You, Let it Go

Cleaning out my closet brought about a healthier mindset.

Emaline Ashe
A Smiling World
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2024

--

Photo by Becca McHaffie on Unsplash

For a while now, peeking into my closet has been a dismal reminder that the majority of my clothes no longer fit me right.

Most of my garments were either too small, too tight, or no longer my style.

Embracing The Older Me

You see, I’ve put on some pounds over the past several years. This is sad to write, but I have now arrived at the highest weight of my lifetime.

A little of my weight gain is due to my surgery recovery and resulting inactivity. But most of my weight gain seems to be from a shift in my metabolism, due to aging and menopause.

It seems I’ve inherited this from my mom and grandmother; once we pass middle age and our hormones start changing, we acquire sturdier frames.

I certainly don’t need any reminders of my skinnier past. There are enough of those around: in the photos that adorn our house, on my social media profile, and in my increasing shirt, pants, dress, and even shoe size.

So today, I went through my closet and removed most of the major offenders. My ill-fitting clothes went into a donation pile or were used to make cleaning rags.

--

--

Emaline Ashe
A Smiling World

Fifty-Something Mom, Biologist Turned Writer, Adoption and Infertility Advocate, Author of https://amzn.to/4cysqu1