“ No Coffee in My City For Refugees”

“ I am a bit Racist”

Subhi Najar
A Smiling World
Published in
6 min readJan 7, 2023

--

Wikimedia

Once upon a time, there was a lion happy and proud in the jungles. One day a clan of hyenas trapped him. The lion survived the traitorous hyenas and went to another forest. Upon reaching that big faraway forest, he took a deep breath and filled his lungs with fresh air.

Shortly, the lion discovered that the survival story did not end there but it entered phase two. “ Yesterday I survived death. Today, tomorrow and for some years to come maybe, I need to survive life” said the lion to himself. At that moment the lion was converted to a new Janus, the Roman god of beginnings and endings, looking with his two faces at the yellow pages of the past and the white ones of the future.

Wikimedia

This is not a story for kids, but it is my own story. When I fled my home country, Syria because of the civil war in 2013 and went to the Netherlands. I was like that lion in Amsterdam Airport…

--

--

Subhi Najar
A Smiling World

Alchemist of words, War Survivor, Little Prince, Bookdragon, Storyteller, Public Speaker. Top writer in fiction, reading & books.