Serendipity

Searching for shark teeth and finding connection

Danielle Morsberger
A Smiling World
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2023

--

a father stands at the waters edge on the beach, holding an infant and watching two toddlers
Photo by Danielle Morsberger

My family spent the last five years living in southern Maryland. It’s a part of Maryland I didn't know existed until we were stationed there. A peninsula with the Potomac River on one side and the Chesapeake Bay on the other, this is a place you won’t be traveling through unless you intend to.

One of my favorite places to spend time when we lived in southern Maryland was Flag Ponds State Park. The water is more calm than other beaches when you have little one. No big waves or riptides that might pull them away most days. It is beautiful in a way that is hard to do justice to. During our last year in Maryland I learned that it is a great place to go fossil hunting too.

After moving back to the Philly area this past summer, my beach babies were missing the sand and the water. I was too. We took a weekend trip down to Lusby to catch the last warm days of fall. We walked through the forest to get to the beach and hoped for the last ripe pawpaw.

We set ourselves up near the waters edge and the kids got right to swimming. I canvased the beach bent low, eyes peeled for miocene treasure. If you know what to look for, you won’t leave empty handed.

About half an hour after I started my search a young girl came up to me. This isn’t uncommon when people…

--

--

Danielle Morsberger
A Smiling World

partner, parent, neighbor, friend. Processing baker and poet, healing and whole. Disabled chronically ill. I am my own.