You Know Your Dad Loves You When He Wears Your Homemade Jewelry

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
A Smiling World

--

The importance of showing love to your child.

picture of a pile of colorful friendship bracelets made by children
Created in Canva, photo credit: sweetlouise from pixabay

As the church door greeter extended his hand to shake mine last Sunday, I noticed a homemade bracelet on his wrist. It stuck out as it was in stark contrast with his nice black suit and tie.

It was made with a bright red piece of yarn adorned with six shiny, colorful beads.

It wasn’t beautiful. It was just homemade.

“I like your bracelet,” I said with a big smile.

He wasn’t embarrassed. He told me proudly, “My daughter gave this to me.”

His little girl, Sarah, is four years old. I smiled when I saw her later. She had five similar bracelets on her own wrist.

During the service, I thought about how blessed Sarah was to have a dad like him.

It’s wonderful she has a dad who is proud of her for no other reason than she shares his last name.

It demonstrates he doesn’t mind looking silly in front of others if it brings a smile to her face.

I wonder if he even realizes how special he makes her feel.

Most “good” dads don’t even realize what they are doing because loving their child comes so naturally to them.

My dad didn’t make me feel very special when I was her age. I’m sure he loved me, he just never said it.

If I had asked him to wear a silly bracelet I made, the answer would have been a short, quick “No.” He would’ve considered it frivolous and embarrassing. He made me feel more like an inconvenience.

My dad’s father never taught him how to be a kind and loving dad. As a result, the trend continued to the next generation. And the cycle continues.

I want to encourage any dad reading this to wear the bracelet she gives you.

Put on the tierra she wants you to wear to her tea party.

Proudly display the coloring page she made for you on the refrigerator.

I would even go so far as to say, let her put some makeup on your face when she wants to play dress up with you.

Do whatever you have to do to let her know you love her and are so thankful she’s your daughter. The time will come when she’ll be too old for friendship bracelets, and the magic of the moment will be gone forever.

You can follow me on Facebook at Kate Dreston, Christian Author, or subscribe to me on Medium.

--

--

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
A Smiling World

Kate Dreston is a published devotional writer providing Bible-based encouragement in an easy-to-understand and down-to-earth way.