Best of A Song A Day 2015: Our most loved songs of the year

Shannon Lee Byrne
A Song A Day
Published in
14 min readDec 27, 2015
It might be a crappy iPhone photo, but likely the last time I’ll ever be that close to Adam Granduciel

2015 was an absolutely amazing year for music, at least in terms of new releases. We knew that we wanted to do some sort of recap, but so many people have already covered the best album releases. I mean Courtney Barnett, Kendrick Lamar, Boogarins, All Them Witches, Joanna Newsom, Ezra Furman … the list goes on, and it’s ridic.

Since the bases were pretty much covered, we’re sharing something a bit different. Below are our most favorite artists shared by our curators with our fav track from each. The result is a playlist if 37 diverse songs — new and old — spanning genres, each with their own meaning and story attached.

Listen to the playlist (available on Soundcloud and Spotify) or read why we chose each below! Not all tracks were available on streaming, so I suggest checking out the list below. :)

Ty Segall

Curated by me for Lo-Fi / Garage Punk

I was almost less predictable and picked Brazilian band Boogarins because I shared them a lot this year and they’re amazing. Alas, I decided to go with the artist who I’ve probably shared and listened to the most this year. Definitely not new to the scene, Ty Segall is probably the most prolific rock artist of our time. Well, it’d be a close tie between him and John Dwyer of Thee Oh Sees. Both artists really love rock and roll and the process of making it, and it shows.

I picked this older track because I’ve listened to it 1,000 times since finding it and like much of his music, it’s not available on most platforms — only via Drag City and YouTube. If you dig this, I suggest checking out his other bands Fuzz, Ty Segall Band, GØGGS, and of course, his new album of T.Rex covers, Ty Rex.

Møme

Curated by Hugo Fauquenoi for Neo Soul & French Touch

Møme is my favorite producer of 2015, closely followed by Big Wild and JackLndn — all artists I curated at least three times in the year. “Aloha” stands out as it represents the future of electronic music: organic, uplifted, groovy. The song is simple but addictive, graceful but powerful, and literally mind blowing.

Elliphant

Curated by Adam Hurly for Dance Pop

Like all the best pop musicians, Elliphant hails from Sweden. Her sound and voice feel new, feel unique. She had a huge feature with Major Lazer on “Too Original” and a terrific pairing with comparable sensation MØ on “One More”. Also…her holiday song “North Star (Bloody Christmas)” is my new seasonal favorite. This song “Love Me Badder” though is the one that introduced me to her and showcases her in proper standalone fashion. I think you’ll fall in love with her too, as she tiptoes toward notoriety.

Melody Gardot

Curated by Matt Federighi for Soul & Blues Rock

Narrowing this down to my favorite curated song was tough. Each week that I curate, I feel like I found my new favorite song. If you ask me this same question next week, I’ll most likely have a new answer. And that is the beauty of discovering new music.

Besides her incredible voice, I really began to like Melody Gardot when I found out that she follows Buddhist teachings and speaks actively about the power of music therapy. When listening to her songs, you can truly feel that positive, motherly energy that makes you feel comforted.

Sam Gellaitry

Curated by Alex Ryo Yamamoto for Neo Soul & French Touch

Sam Gellaitry is without a doubt, my favorite artist of 2015. To me, he epitomizes and has heavily influenced the type of music and culture that now dominates SoundCloud (at least the “electronic” genre), which you might not expect from an 18-year old producer from Scotland. His songs effortlessly float from genre to genre incorporating influences from trap, house, hip hop, jazz, and more. He’s the perfect producer for easily distracted millennials like me, as he layers his songs with so many different instruments, synths, and unique sounds. My favorite track, “to earth and back” demonstrates that perfectly. It starts beautifully with an intro filled with xylophone and guitar sounds before dropping into a trappy bounce, then progressing into a more groovy house vibe, then back to trap and finally returns the listener back down to where it all started. This year, he released two excellent EPs, “Short Stories” and the recently released “Escapism.” He’s certainly one to watch in 2016.

Dance Gavin Dance

Curated by Matt Ciel for Post Hardcore

Great new sound from an amazing band. Adding a new vocalist with a different range often has consequences, especially for a group with a proven track record. DGD surpassed expectations and I, for one, cannot stop listening.

Christine And The Queens

Curated by Alex Manthei for Electro-Instrumental

Christine And The Queens is a solo project of the multitalented singer, songwriter, dancer, and performer Heloïse Létissier. I really suggest her tracks “Jonathan” and “IT” for a taste of what contemporary electronic pop *should* sound like. She’s got a refined sound and I think she’ll only grow in popularity.

Robert Glasper

Curated by Kat Loughrey for Modern Jazz

In the past year, I’ve come across an extensive range of amazing music that can fall under the category “modern jazz,” so it was difficult to narrow down to just one artist to highlight. I chose Robert Glasper as he is always on high rotation with me and the one who helped kickstart this love for jazz years ago. His latest project “Covered” with the Robert Glasper Trio is simply beautiful. I was lucky to see them perform it live this year — but I also highly recommend you check out his solo work and other projects such as the Robert Glasper Experiment. He’s amazing and through him, you’ll discover very talented musicians that are worth exploring as well. Enjoy! :)

Vulfpeck

Curated by Mari Gunn for Funk

Michigan-based Vulfpeck maintains the integrity of classic funk while giving it their own contemporary spin. They are technically great and unarguably fun. “Back Pocket,” a charming single from their newest album “Thrill of the Arts,” is on the pop side of their spectrum. So if you like it a little funkier, just listen to all their stuff, okay?

Bicep

Curated by Amber Robertson for Dancefloor

I first heard this song on a rooftop, which has a way of amplifying your feelings for that song. Bicep has just been killing it without really breaking through to the mainstream.

Wild Cub

Curated by Becky Welch for Indie Rock

You know those songs that make you giddy when you hear them for the first time? Wild Light was like that for me, and then I got even more giddy when I listened to the rest of Wild Cub’s album, Youth. It is filled with 80’s influences, and it’s just an all-around amazing album. It has become one of my all-time favorites and I haven’t gotten tired of it.

The Maccabees

Curated by Julia Maehner for Eclectic Folk

Honestly, I love most of the songs I curate. Just picking one Is really fucking hard. But this one is the first one that popped to my head, when I thought about picking just one song for our A Song A Day recap. The song itself sums up 2015 pretty damn well for me, too. And the new Maccabees album ‘Marks to Prove it’ is one of my favorites this year.

Big Data

Curated by Priti Trivedi for Pop Rock

I originally sent out “Dangerous” off of 2.0 (after listening to it 14,00 times), but now I’m obsessed with “Clean” ft. Jamie Liddell. The album’s incredibly catchy beat and insanely clever lyrics perfectly capture the way technology and advertising have infiltrated our daily lives AND make you wanna dance all night.

Aurora

Curated by Lisa Solimeo for Singer-Songwriter Rock

I saw her play at Iceland Airwaves, never having heard of her before. She was so mesmerizing, energetic, and has this captivating darkness hiding behind her angelic face and bleach blonde hair. I think she’ll be pretty big once her album is released in the states and I can’t wait to see her perform again!

Vexx

Curated by industrialest8 (Jesse Madsen) for Punk

Vexx’s Give and Take 7" is the punk single of the year. The sound isn’t just a throwback to seminal punk of the 70s delivered with a sneer and swagger, it’s much more. Maryjane Dunphe lyrics and delivery switches from sardonic to maniacally emotive from one line to the next. Mike Liebmann’s guitar bends but does not break to the mania. His earlier groove heavy glam rock work in Buzzer almost keeps Vexx from destroying everything in their path. Almost. Hat tip to the label Katorga Works this year. This and releases from Sheer Mag, Ivy, Vanity, Cairo Python and Pure Disgust proves the quality over quantity cliche. My A Song A Day group got ‘Sleeping in the Attic’ but upon 100+ listens ‘Flattened Scenes’ is the standout. It’s the sum of all of Vexx’s parts.

Bixiga 70

Curated by Laura Gluhanich for World

I’ve discovered dozens of artists from around the globe, curating for the World group. This Brazilian Afro Funk outfit offers up mellow but driving grooves that are perfect for when you are in the mood for that vibe.

Beirut

Curated by Danielle Fleischman for Nugaze

I’ve been listening to Beirut for years, but they’ve really perfected their sound with this latest album. They may be an indie band, but you can put this song on for anyone and they will love it.

Ulysse

Curated by Carrie West for Electronic Pop

The first time I heard that sitar lick I was intoxicated. The second time I heard it I was on my feet grooving. It’s an unexpected detail that could, in the wrong hands, toe the line of gimmicky but stays far away from it. Ulysse’s small but consistent discography is riddled with similar gems all mixed and balanced perfectly amidst lush instrumentals and flawless production. Cap it off with crooning vocals smoother than syrup and I’ve got no choice but to listen to Ulysse on repeat and wait for them to get the credit they are due. Friends in Belgium, look out for your next local breakout.

Four Tet

Curated by Jessie Wood for Electronic Pop

In my opinion, Four Tet is the best electronic musician of 2015. Not only were all of his productions pure fire, but his DJ sets were some of the best I heard in the past year. Four Tet has always been great and I’ve been listening to him for about 10 years — and he just keeps getting better. It’s unreal, really. His sound has changed and grown without alienating any of his original audience, and he’s really not afraid to mix it up.

I was torn between this and Nicolas Jaar’s “Fight,” which I think is the best song of 2015, but when it comes down to it, Four Tet put out 2–3 songs that are contenders for that title, making him the stronger producer of the year overall. I love you Four Tet.

Holydrug Couple

Curated by Matthew Ström for Nugaze

The psych revival isn’t a new thing, but artists who manage to fit the genre without pandering to stereotypes or worn-out aesthetics are few and far between. Holydrug Couple has had a productive few years, and I expect them to continue putting out stellar (and far-out) music in the years to come.

Bad Bad Hats

Curated by Bryan Strang for Alternative Rock

I have a bunch of arbitrary rules I’ve made for myself that dictate what songs I can and cannot send out. One of them is that I don’t want anything to be more than three months old by the time it gets it to you. It’s dumb and only makes things more difficult and probably no one would even notice, but it’s the rules and I should live by them.

The first time I broke this rule (of a bunch of times, of course) was to send “It Hurts.” A song by Minneapolis band Bad Bad Hats from 2010. I heard they were going to be putting out a new album soon and I guess I wanted to make sure everyone knew I knew about them before that happened? I don’t know what my motivation was, but I broke that rule and soon I’d break another, the one about not sending a band twice, because when the single for that new album came out, the song you see here, I sent that as well and then when the album came out I sent another one.

Bad Bad Hats is the only band I sent three songs from this year so it has to be my favorite. The numbers don’t lie. And this song’s title sums up how I feel about that. Or how I should feel, if I had any respect for the laws I made up.

Christine and the Queens (again)

Curated by Caroline Fay for Indie Pop

Out of all the notable music we heard in 2015, Christine and the Queens is most worthy of this year’s indie pop crown. While many of her peers take a “more is more” ‘tude to synths and beats, Christine chooses production that is thoughtful and minimal — the perfect backdrop for her riveting lyrics. Christine’s music explores her questions on gender and her queer identity, but in an even greater feat, it is a celebration of that dissonance within her. And if that alone doesn’t sound beautiful enough, just check out her MJ-status dance moves.

The Velvet Teen

Curated by Mike Singletary for Indie Folk

Holy cow. Choosing one band from an entire year of curating songs was insanely difficult. So many great options and awesome albums released this year.

I’m a long time Velvet Teen fan and this album was probably one of the most anticipated of the year for me. And it certainly did not let down. These guys bring so much energy and creativity with everything they do. Such a great album. Cheers to 2015!

KHAI

Curated by Nathaniel Padgett for House

I suppose Khai’s music can’t really be described as House, but it makes me dance every time I listen to him, so he’s essentially there in my book. Do U Go Up has great entrancing base and the song perfectly highlights Khai’s unique voice. Can’t wait to hear what he drops next.

Gliss

Curated by brian cervino for Shoegaze

I thought that this song and this album really captured the classic elements of shoegaze and dream pop and mixed them with modern production to create a beautiful piece of music.

I just learned about Gliss this year, and don’t know much about their past work, but I really think that as far as shoegaze that came out this year, this is some of the loveliest.

Disclosure (feat. Kwabs)

Curated by Mallory Johns for Ambient / Mood Music

I’ve been a fan of Disclosure since their first album, but this one track (off their latest ‘Caracal’) is now my Top Spotify track of 2015, with over 53 streams! In short, this song has it all: Smooth vocals (from London crooner Kwabs), pulsing (yet chill) synths, the perfect chord structure and most importantly, an infectious beat tailor-made for late-night groovin’ with that special someone.

Bad Bad Hats (again)

Curated by Janet Choi for Indie Pop

Sassy power pop rock that still has this glinty edge kind of hits the sweet spot for me. I end up binge-listening their 2 albums whenever 1 track comes on, and I love that I discovered them through the ASAD curating process.

Fleet Foxes

Curated by Joanna K. Sobieski for Modern Bluegrass

Fleet Foxes is one of the last artists I discovered this year, but since I first happened upon their music I’ve been listening to them nonstop. As a folk music lover I appreciate that they cite their influences as the greats such as Bob Dylan- it is evident in the sophistication of their lyrics and music which is often laced with gorgeous harmonies. While the group is wholly American, there is something that feels old-English about their songs, adding anther layer of interest to their sound. The wispy tenor of lead singer/ lead songwriter Robin Pecknold makes Fleet Foxes’ music feel as serene as the clouds over a stunning mountaintop view, perfect for taking your spirit somewhere quietly uplifting.

Cult Leader

Curated by Kyle for Metal

Simply put, their 2015 album ‘Lightless Walk’ is everything I love about heavy music. Abrasive, shifting dynamics between fast and slow and loud and quiet, and just plain pissed. This is punk and hardcore influenced metal at its finest and its most literal. One track title in particular sums up this record: ‘Suffer Louder.’

Colony House

Curated by Diana Puglio for Indie Rock

As soon as I heard the chorus I was hooked. I discovered Colony House when I lived in Tampa. When I moved to Nashville this summer, I learned they were from here! I was fortunate enough to see them play live last night, and they rocked it. They’re a relatively new band, but I think in a few years they’ll have a groove and even stronger following.

The Ambassadors

Curated by Reynaldo Campos Jr. for Motown / Soul

Closing out the year with a top pick by The Ambassadors. The uptempo ballad, ‘I Need Someone’ showcases a driving beat blending excellent band arrangements and soaring group harmony vocals that are perfect for the dance floor. Overall, it’s a classic record that is representative of the Motown-esque sound we’ll continue to keep rolling into 2016.

Wayne Shorter

Curated by Armaan Brar for Jazz

Wayne Shorter is considered modern jazz’s most influential saxophonists and among it’s most original composers. His contributions to jazz have embodied a wholesale shift in perspective. His playing style is indescribable and really has to be experienced.

Ought

Curated by Maria Bhim for Eclectic Indie

According to Spotify, this was my second most listened to song of 2015, amd only second to my most listened song in 2014. So it’s pretty clear when a song gets a hold of me, it’s really hard to let it go. This track “Pill” has a beautiful slow burn to it and is a nice glimpse at the softer side of the four-piece post-punk noise rock outfit.

Brand New

Curated by Paul Adler for Emo Rock

I think Brand New will probably always be my favorite band. They teased fans in early 2015 by dropping “Mene,” though it’s likely we won’t see a new LP till next year. Luckily, this tune was enough to tide most fans over, as the band is pretty unpredictable and some new material is undoubtedly better than none.

Nathaniel Ratliff & the Night Sweats

Curated by ColbyAngusBlack for Soul & Blues Rock

All at the same time, it’s raw and it’s old and it’s new and it’s just perfect.

Punch Brothers

Curated by Jessica Shamma for Singer-Songwriter Rock

I probably chose Punch Brothers, because they’re a bit top of mind, considering I’m on a little P.B. bender right now.. But I first heard them in a barn at Bonnaroo out in the Campgrounds, which was such a magical moment for me. So they’ll always bring about warm and fuzzy feelings when they come on. Chris Thile is a genius (and a MacArthur fellow) and his amazing technique and passion for songwriting comes out in almost every song he writes. May be a bit less “rock”-y per se, but I def think their genre spans more than a single category.

Honorable Mention goes to one of my faves Saintseneca! There’s never a wrong time to listen to them. Killing it with that ‘stache.

PrHyme

Curated by Wazha Dube for Hip Hop

PRhyme’s released single on the ‘Southpaw’ OST, ‘Mode’ was a bonus from their debut album and it’s easy to say that Royce da 5'9 and DJ Premier are one of Hip Hop’s best super groups of late. With the addition of Maryland MC, Logic, who’s sophomore album, ‘The Incredible True Story’ is on it’s way to gold, this track by the two killer MCs from different generations spitting on a track by one of music’s best producers is surely on it’s way to platinum!

Your turn!

Who was your favorite artist or band that we sent you this year? Not an A Song A Day subscriber? You can change that here or tell us who your favorite artist of 2015 was (old or new) anyway!

--

--

Shannon Lee Byrne
A Song A Day

Co-founder of AdultDecisionsMGMT.com, band manager, freelance writer of copy and editorial