Confessions of a fasting designer

Empathy for designers as well as by them

Hanan A.S.
A Song of Art & Science
2 min readApr 26, 2021

--

I love helping you but my throat gets a little dry after a few hours of talking💦

so please consider that when you ask for 2 (not entirely necessary) meetings a week. Girl can’t talk no more😕

Good Night’s Sleep & Caffeine are glorious things. I am sorry if my creativity is not 100% ☕️🥱

Changes to sleep pattern and lack of caffeine to make up for the resulting grogginess make it a little more difficult to think wildly. It’s weak I know but I am only human.

I fight bleakness with exercise, but that means my day starts a bit late 👟⏰

Outlook seems pretty bleak when sugar levels drop so I close my exercise ring right when I wake up in the morning to give myself a rush of endorphins that lasts a bit. That pushes my schedule to around 9:30 AM. Can you accept that?

Evening meetings in Ramadan are really hard to make 😶⏳

Ramadan is a season of worship and prayer. So we do more on a Ramadan day than any other day: Beside work, family and chores we have prayers in the evening and we spend some time preparing our Iftar. It’s pretty hard to make meetings after 6 PM.

I can still stop you if you deliver your feedback in an impolite manner ✋🏼⏹

Like always: as politely as well. Fasting improves us and teaches us how to deal with tough situations in a sophisticated and socially acceptable manner. So don’t take my fasting as an excuse to be rude, please.

💕 Design is all about empathy; maybe it’s time the world empathized with designers as well :)

Till next time, lots of love and #keepdesigning

--

--

Hanan A.S.
A Song of Art & Science

What remains of a Human Female. Digital Product Designer. Bookworm.