Yer a Wizard, Designer šŸ’”

Itā€™s tough business being a designer.

Hanan A.S.
A Song of Art & Science
2 min readOct 17, 2022

--

This wasnā€™t at all meant to be harry potter themed. But since I heard the news of Robbie Coltraneā€™s passing I just kept thinking that Hagridā€™s rock solid loyalty and unexpected wisdom should be honored, my way.

So this is a real post about the everyday struggles of a UX/UI designer. The small victories no one talks about. It is also a tribute to everyoneā€™s favorite half giant, the character Robbie played so well. May his soul rest in peace.

ā€œWhatā€™s Cominā€™ Will Come, and Weā€™ll Meet it When it Doesā€ ā€” we step up to a challenge.

Whether itā€™s a project with a 100 page PDF explaining the scope in painful details or a one sentence brief merely stating the idea of a product, we take what we get and make something that makes the clientā€™s jaw drop. Because, yes, designers are practical peeps.

ā€œI am what I am, anā€™ Iā€™m not ashamed.ā€ ā€” We do not need to be fullstack designers.

7 years in UX/UI Design, and still people look at me funny when I refuse to design a logo. It does not make me less of a designer if I refuse to do graphic design work. Not all developers are full stack, do people belittle them for sticking to their profession ,I ask you? Nope, they do not.

Every time you stand your ground is a victory.

ā€œI should not have said thatā€ ā€” Learning to downplay the awesomeness.

Ever reveal your knowledge or ability to do something in the early stages of a project only to regret it later? I am an over achiever so I always try to deliver the best results I can from the get go. Consequently, I set the bar too high for myself and then nothing is enough for the client anymore šŸ¤¦šŸ»ā€ā™€.

ā€œThey Were All Bullyinā€™ Him, Hermione, ā€™Cause Heā€™s So Small!ā€ļø ā€” We make sure your product is perfect, even when you donā€™t believe it.

That moment when you defend a feature that you know will improve the experience to a group of stakeholders who do not see why you decided to add something they never asked for.

ā€œAh, well, people can be stupid abouā€™ their pets,ā€ ā€” scrapping our beloved designs.

It is never easy to discard a design you spent time and energy and built so lovingly with all your knowledge and skills. But all designers know that ā€œkill your darlingsā€ is the most important rule if we want to keep our jobs. Sometimes, a design doesnā€™t make the cut and we just need to throw it in the bin and start all over. We understand we shouldnā€™t get attached but still, it feels bad when this happens šŸ„ŗšŸ˜“.

--

--

Hanan A.S.
A Song of Art & Science

What remains of a Human Female. Digital Product Designer. Bookworm.