My first medium post

Cameron Bostic
A sports blog
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2019

I read blogs by the users Nolan Hughes, Brad Callas, and Brandon Anderson. All three of these blog writers wrote about the same thing, basketball. Nolan Hughes is an up and coming blogger who writes about many sports, he tends to write about whatever is current and is being written about by other people. The next blogger that I read was Brad Callas, this blogger writes mostly about basketball, Lebron a lot. He also has written about other sports such as hockey too. The final blogger that I read was Brandon Anderson. He too, writes mostly about sports, basketball and football is his main things to write about but he does have the occasional article about the off thing such as politics.

While reading the blogs I noticed multiple things about them all. While reading Brad’s I noticed that he used numbers, stats and facts to make his blogs and that was an interesting thing. It was partially opinion-oriented, but all things sports are. I found that him using stats to back up his opinions were a strength of his that made his blogs more readable.

While reading Nolan’s blog the first thing that stood out to me was the way it’s set up, which is well done. While reading it though it is more opinion-oriented than the normal sports blog but that is something that I like about it. Although it was opinion-oriented he still did have some facts to back up what he was saying. He makes his blogs more personal about his thoughts rather than what everyone else thinks and that is something that leaves room for discussion and people to respond to him. I think one strength in this blog is how he keeps a lot of room for discussion with his readers.

The final reader, Brandon Anderson, was a lot more opinion-oriented. Although his sports blogs are still good and interesting to read, almost all of what he says is up for debate in the average sports mind and he doesn’t use much fact to back it up. This is something that I personally did not like. Maybe for him this is a personal strength and he enjoys writing without providing too much fact to back it up but in my opinion it’s best to have a mix between facts and opinions.

--

--