A Pot of Gold

from Dave Hartman

More Than Me
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2017

--

For the last several years my life has been pretty much just getting by spiritually. I’ve been just going through the motions. I just couldn’t get anything started and I was fed up with the way I was living. When PJ gave the illustration of the battle/hospital ship, I saw myself on a gurney. I wanted a strong relationship with God but I didn’t know how to get there.

One morning I set my alarm for 5am, got up and took a prayer walk. When I got back to my house, I had a long quiet time where God met me. I could sense his presence. I continued to cry out to him to show me his glory. I wanted to know that he was real.

The next day, Chip Grange asked whether I had seen the email that he sent me. So I opened up the email. And this was the picture that I saw.

Chip joked that I should look for the pot of gold in my chimney. But as I looked at that photo I saw that the rainbow didn’t go in the chimney, it was directly over where I had been praying!

I thought about just how impossible it was to get that rainbow to be directly over my head. The water droplets had to be in just the right place, the light coming from the sunrise had to be just the right angle, Chip could only be standing in one spot to see it.

God made sure that I knew it was him, because Chip added to the email the exact time the rainbow appeared, 5:45am. The exact time I was praying.

--

--