Character 😊

Jada Paddock
A_Summer_in _Bolivia
6 min readAug 21, 2018

As I sit in Sacramento reflecting on my time in Bolivia, I am thinking more about the wonderful experiences I have had here, the amazing people I have been with, and how this experience has changed me for the better.

Starting from the very beginning, my beginning, I was born in Zhan Jiang City, China, and was adopted by my wonderful mothers and sister when I was just 18 months old. I then grew up in Sacramento, California and continued my education in Santa Clara. Growing up in Sacramento, there were gay and lesbian families, there were many other adoptees that I met and became great friends with. I never considered myself that different from the average American or the typical household. However, after this trip I have realized the importance of my life story and listening to others’ stories.

From working at Agroflori with Marcelo and Soledad, I have learned that working with animals isn’t always fun and games. Before working at Agroflori I had assumed that my work there would be super fun and exciting; while it was fun and exciting, it was for different reasons. We didn’t build a new parrot cage or learn how to grow trees because there were more important daily tasks that needed to get done. This was primarily feeding all the birds and cleaning the storage room. It was a daily pleasure to pet the ocelot, the sloth, and all seven dogs on the property. It even became fun to go into the parrot and macaw cages despite their loud screeches and aggressive tendencies. Fun work is still hard work. But while it may be hard, it provides a lasting feeling of satisfaction as you helped out animals who otherwise wouldn’t receive any help at all.

(Jada, Angelica, José, and Erin) The final day at Agroflori 🐦

From working alongside Carlos I have learned that on a team, especially in the developing world, you need to be able to take on a multitude of roles: brainstormer, analyst, executioner, and organizer. Put into a newly made project in Bolivia, Erin and I really had no idea what kind of work would be expected of us. By the end of our second week however, we realized that we were going to plan an entire museum. Not only was Erin and my job researching Lake Titicaca and its surrounding species, but it was also budgeting the museums current and future expenses, fundraising, and designing the layout of the museum. A lot was on our plate and while it did seem overwhelming in the beginning, I am super grateful that Carlos entrusted us to care for his land and his dream for the museum. Any typical internship would place your daily work as a single part of a larger idea, but here I was advising every part of the project and it felt good.

The Aliagatos on la Isla del Sol ☀️

From bonding with Erin I have learned to push myself to try new things. Erin is such an active and opportunistic person and her excitement about things allowed for unique experiences that otherwise wouldn’t have happened. Petting Pancho the sloth was only because Erin was curious about him and asked about how he was doing post surgery. Due to my lack of Spanish abilities, Erin was like the messenger between the other volunteers of the Agroflori workers and me. I really relied on her for some instructions and am super grateful that she was with me for the entire journey.

Using your imagination, doesn’t the rock Erin is sitting in look like a puma? 🧐

From surrounding myself with the laughter of the other Global Fellows I have learned how wonderful it is to travel with other people. While this may come as common knowledge, all of the experiences and memories that I made would not be the same if not for the people that were around me. Kimy was the stellar dancer of the group — Andrew’s dancing a close second. Brandon’s ‘sensitive eyes’ taking the best of photos everywhere we went. Ali’s melodic voice and finger guns keeping the group positive. Gen’s philosophical questions keeping us on our toes. Ale’s sarcastic yet heart-warming remarks making us all laugh and Erin’s constant laughter making us all smile. This group is made up of people from different backgrounds and characters, but we somehow meshed together into the perfect ‘awayo’.

AHA! Thanks for the great pics, Ariel! ❤️

From keeping a journal I have realized how much of this experience I don’t want to forget. Every day of my trip I spent about an hour writing down what I did that day and what I was thinking during each activity. Doing this has helped me conceptualize how much I enjoy my time with the other Global Fellows and how much I have learned from my work. Because of this journal, I now have my memories in Bolivia solidified for forever.

The beginning of the sunset in Salar de Uyuni.

I was initially bummed that I would be going to Bolivia instead of Indonesia and sometimes I still wonder what it would have been like there; how just two women in a humid, predominantly Muslim, Southeast Asian archipelago would have been; how seeing my Grandfather’s hometown would have been and seeing the same places my family has visited. However, if going to Indonesia would mean erasing my time here in Bolivia, I wouldn’t change a thing.

My experience in Bolivia has grown my personal character to step away from my love for security and consistency; to push myself to be uncomfortable and feel different; to embrace my past, present, and welcome my future.Thanks to everyone that traveled with me around Cochabamba and Bolivia, who slowed time down for new experiences and smiles. Thanks to those who supported my work by donating money, knowledge, and love. Thanks to my family who has been strong rocks for me to rely on while on this fast-moving, busy trip.

The sunrise in Salar de Uyuni.

Final Tidbits~

(aka things that don’t fit in the main text because they’re such random thoughts)

  • While traveling throughout Bolivia, almost every view I saw seemed beautiful — the clouds seemed larger and fluffier, the sky seemed bluer, and views on car rides seemed like once in a lifetime experiences. I took almost over 1000 pictures there! And while, scientifically, the clouds in Bolivia could be bigger and it’s true that I may not return to Bolivia soon to see these same views again, my perspective on these location are simply just perspective. In a new country, any view is foreign and different. But, if someone were to visit California for the first time, our skies may seem more beautiful, our landscape more picture worthy, and our clouds as wispy as ever.
The sky on the drive back from Chapare. ☁️
  • Listening to Carlos, Anna, and their friends’ life stories, my mouth was constantly open and my eyebrows were permanently raised — living in the the jungle for 12 years, personal chef for Ronald Regan and Hugh Hefner, working with Mother Teresa. It was amazing to hear of their adventurous and fulfilling lives, but it was even more surprising was talking about myself and my family. When I talked about my mothers and what they have done, I realized that their lives are just as exciting as these people at Anna and Carlos’ Friday lunches. It makes me think about how many amazing life stories can be found by simply asking someone about themselves. 📖?
  • I am grateful for seatbelts because every time I got into a car in Bolivia, I was afraid of getting into a car crash. 🚗🇧🇴
  • I am grateful for higher water pressure because now, I can throw away toilet paper in the toilet. 🇺🇸🚽

--

--

Jada Paddock
A_Summer_in _Bolivia

Mechanical Engineering Student at Santa Clara University. Summer 2018 Global Fellow.