LIFE | SUPERSTITIOUS BELIEFS | MINDFULNESS

A Day of Superstitions or New Beginnings?

Friday the 13th

Pal_Sanghita
A Taste for Life

--

[Please click here if you are a non-Medium member!]

There is something about the way people whisper about the day! [Image: ©️Pal_Sanghita]

Friday 13th, the Doom’s Day?

Well, we have two Friday 13th this year. One falls in September and the other is in December.

There are several theories and possible explanations but clearly, there is no scientific evidence supporting Friday 13th to be considered unlucky.

This is my part of the story in the following:

I clearly remember one Friday the 13th a few years back when I was travelling with my son back to Delhi from my hometown.

It was downpouring, badly!

The itinerary was such that we had to change flight in Kolkata and then catch a flight to Delhi. That was the only option left due to my hasty, last minute ticket booking.

Our flight reached Kolkata two hours late from the scheduled time of arrival. Luckily, we had to catch the connecting flight to Delhi of the same flight partner and there was still time for that.

However, it started raining so heavily that our flight got delayed for the next one and half hours. Soon enough, a group of co-passengers began discussing the date.

Their voices grew louder as they exchanged stories about the misfortune of travelling on this day. One elderly lady mentioned mechanical failures on flights, while a man shared some accident occurred and he had to cut short his visit.

I shifted my attention and glanced at my son, who was busy looking out the window, blissfully unaware. I smiled at his innocence, but I could feel the atmosphere shifting.

I reminded myself that every day is what we make of it, and it is not determined by a number or any superstitious belief. I chose to see the journey as some quality time spent with my son, consciously disconnecting from the stories swirling around us.

After some time, the flight boarding call was made.

Thank God!

Although delayed, our flight could finally take off and we all reached Delhi safe and sound.

There are a few simple things that may be practiced to ease the unsettled mind and make the day feel more positive. Tried and tested:

1. Acknowledging the Feeling

It is okay to feel uneasy. While recognizing the superstition, practice to make yourself believe that that’s just another day.

2. Engaging in Positive Distractions

Keeping our ‘self’ busy can make the day pass smoothly. Do something creatively engaging like spending time on hobbies to keep the mind off the thought of superstition.

3. Practicing Mindfulness

Anxiety often comes from future worries. Focus on the present moment. Watch your breath. Ground yourself. Calm down. Stay mindful. Ease out of the unnecessary tension.

4. Avoiding Major Decisions

Avoid making major decisions. It makes you feel better with no extra load, go for it. Play it safe!

5. Using Protective Symbols/Images

If you believe in God or good luck charms, keep one close like amulet or wristlet. You may carry the picture of your favorite God while travelling along or chant mantras to ward off bad/negative vibes. Meditation helps too.

Video credit: Meditative Mind on YouTube

Photo and post ©️Sanghita Pal, 2024. All rights reserved©️.💐

Thank you for reading. Please feel free to check out my profile. 🙏

I love to write about Nature, Mindfulness, Life, Travel, Architecture, Food, Books, and anything that sparks my curiosity.✨

Stay connected| If you like and enjoy my writing, please subscribe to my stories.💖| Email: sanghitapal2@gmail.com

--

--

Pal_Sanghita
A Taste for Life

Perennial learner~I find solace in the quiet moments of nature. I cherish dreamy skies and the charm of quaint hilly hamlets. OROPHILE. SELENOPHILE. NEPHOPHILE.