Flash Fiction

Emotional Rollercoaster

A Story of Love, Regret, and New Beginnings

AC0040
A Taste for Life

--

Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

Three hours before dawn,
Oliver sat at the oak kitchen table
over a cup of dark,
pumpkin spice coffee.
He lifted the mug to his lips, blew
steam from the brim, and took quick sips.
He set down the mug and pushed it away.
Oliver rested his head in his hands,
elbows propped on the table.
Oliver couldn’t stay awake,
and he feared sleep.
Oliver had it in his head to call Ellie,
hoping to talk sense into her eyes
to see the future with aspirations
of them tangled between bedsheets.
Ellie’s grip held him to an untold story
like a mirage teasing his thirsty soul.
September kicked August
out of the picture,
and Ellie slipped out the back door.
Oliver didn’t need to hear her tires
crunch over the gravel
to know she had plans
to head back east to Hudson.
Ellie said Hudson had her heart
but she loved Oliver.
That’s what Ellie said.
But a heart is a fragile thing to replace.
Oliver separated the blinds
and saw her taillights
fade as dust obscured her presence.
The crisp brown and yellow leaves
descended from skeletal willow trees.
Oliver started the lawn mower
to cut the grass.
He trimmed the hedges
just the way she’d wanted.
Oliver paid workers to build
a tall pine fence.
What Oliver did enough
left her wanting for more.
Nicole, a neighbor, came over
to bring Oliver home-cooked meals.
One year later, he invited her
in for a conversation.
Nicole brought wine
and two glasses.
Oliver didn’t want what
he knew she wanted.
But his will fell to hell
as he sipped wine with Nicole.
Nicole said she’d watched
him read on the balcony.
Her flattery absorbed his failures.
Nicole said she wrote short stories.
Oliver asked her to send him a few.
Nicole blushed and agreed to do so.
The chardonnay loosened his muscles
and his lips spoke the truth he’d withheld
for years.
Oliver told Nicole that he knew he was Ellie’s rebound.
Even after the years of their time spent together,
he was none the wiser.
Nicole pulled her long, red bangs behind her ear
and told him he deserved better than to settle
for second best.
Their gazes intertwined, each pleading
for release yet remaining steadfastly
ensnared in the paradox of conflicting emotions,
where the essence of love had faded
amidst the surge of unadulterated romance.
“Wow,” Oliver said, rubbing his face. “I’m not sure this — ”
“Oh, stop it,” Nicole said. “She’s gone. I’m single.” She touched her chest and motioned to Oliver. “And you’re single. We’re doing nothing wrong.”
Nicole crossed her legs.
Oliver swallowed hard.
Nicole followed his eyes to her smooth, pale legs. “I need a tan, but they’re smooth.” She winked. She uncrossed her legs and crossed them again. She had red toenails. Cute feet. Oliver wasn’t even a “foot guy,” but she had cute feet.
She had a Hurly sweater on — Oliver’s favorite brand.
Oliver thought this woman knew more about him than she let on.
She had red lipstick and glitter that danced with her freckles.
Nicole sipped more wine and ran her fingers through her hair with her free hand.
“Do you know me from somewhere?” Oliver said, arching a brow. He finished his wine and started a cigarette.
“You write, too, right?” Nicole said.
“I write what’s on my mind,” Oliver said.
“I read your posts.”
“I’m nothing special,” Oliver said. “I hope someone gets something out of my work,” Oliver said.
Nicole’s eyes welled. “Your stories and poems help me,” she said, brushing away tears. “I was in a dark place a year ago. I searched Medium posts for content that resonated with me.” She set her glass on the maple coffee table. “Traditionally published authors are pompous jerks. I’d much rather read indie content.”
“I guess I never thought about it that way.”
Nicole motioned. “They think being published means their work is something worth reading.”
“Sometimes I wonder how they even publish garbage.”
“Luck of the draw.”
“Are you traditionally published?”
“Yes, and my book is trash.”
They laughed.
A knock on the door startled them.
Oliver stood and moved to the door.
He opened it.
“It didn’t work out,” Ellie said. “He cheated on me. I left the best thing that ever happened to me.”
Oliver stood in the doorway, staring at her with pity.
“Who is she?” Ellie said.
“Someone you could never be.”
Ellie moved her sleeve across her damp eyes. “I see a sparkle in your eyes again. I drained you with my calls and texts to him,” Ellie said. “You didn’t deserve that.”
“No,” Oliver said, “I didn’t. I felt that way for a while, but I don’t feel that anymore.”
Nicole moved to the doorway and fit herself into his arms.
“You guys look like a good couple.” Ellie folded her lips under her teeth. “I’m going back to my parents.”
“Take care, Ellie,” Oliver said.
“Take care, stepsister,” Nicole said.
“Bye Nikki,” Ellie said.
Oliver moved his head. “What?”
“This story has a twist,” she said, hugging him.

(© 2024 AC)

--

--

AC0040
A Taste for Life

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. I write short stories and poems.