Hilarity With My Mother

A Bittersweet Memory

Lynn L. Alexander
A Taste for Life
2 min readJul 9, 2023

--

Photo by Natalia Sobolivska on Unsplash

When Jason Edmunds asked us to write about a memory, I thought of the time my mother and I laughed on and on.

We were sitting in the living room, and my mother told me a story about something that had happened in her past.

One of her friends had put her corset on her clothesline. Later, her little boy went up to her and told her that the Venetian blind fell off the clothesline.

I thought the story was absolutely hilarious, and my mother and I were laughing and laughing uncontrollably.

While were we laughing, my brother walked in and asked what we wanted to do for dinner. He didn’t crack a smile or even acknowledge that we were in the middle of a laughing fest.

This, of course, made us to laugh even more!

My mother and I both loved to laugh and had the same sense of humor.

Now that it has been five years since my mother’s passing, I am able to reflect on the good times and remember the fun that we had.

When she first passed away, I could not think of anything but the last few weeks of her life and the pain that it caused.

This memory brings a smile to my face.

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander
A Taste for Life

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.