It’s Spring! Time for Diet and Exercise Renewal

Want to Join In?

Marianne Irvine
A Taste for Life
3 min readApr 23, 2022

--

Numerous plates of fresh vegetables in assorted colors
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

Changing unhelpful lifestyle habits is difficult. Somebody could call me the queen of unhealthy lifestyle habits throughout my lifetime.

While I have overcome many, shall I say, bad habits in the decades I’ve lived. There are a few that I still have trouble sticking with.

A healthy diet and exercise, to name them.

Some of the readers know I have health challenges, which is the topic of a recent article.

Sticking to an optimal eating and exercise plan is challenging when living with a chronic illness, at least for me it is, especially when there is so much advice with numerous diets, opinions, and anecdotal experiences on the internet. I named some of the many diets in my chronic illness article.

I have experimented with dietary plans throughout my journey to wellness, but adherence is the kicker. I receive limited results from giving up too soon, only to jump on the bandwagon of a touted new shiny object diet.

Pick me! Pick me! You need me, says the shiny object.

And exercise? Well, that’s an even bigger problem now that my health has deteriorated further. Two years ago, I took out an introductory gym membership. I tried to work out the way I used to with strength training and cardio.

Big mistake!

A week later, I ended up in the emergency department. That ended that big idea.

I needed something gentler on my body and joints. I tried a bit of yoga using videos at home, then gave up. I couldn’t accomplish most of the moves.

Does any of this sound familiar?

Budding plant
Photo by Hansjörg Keller on Unsplash

As spring temperatures begin and fresh new aliveness of tear-drop buds peek out of bare somber branches; I feel motivated toward a springtime renewal of my own.

It’s time for a fresh start on a new health and wellness program, but this time I will design my plan for the specific challenges and preferences I have with the help of research-based practices, of course.

It may be trial and error, correction, it will be trial and error, and I will take my time toward steady progress one day at a time.

I plan to write about this health and wellness journey to keep myself accountable throughout the expected ups and downs of transforming unhealthy habits into healthy habits.

Yes! Spring feels like the right time to renew efforts for improved health and fitness.

Thank you for reading my story! I hope you will join me!

This story was inspired by A Taste for Life’s April writing prompt World Health Day and Write Here’s writing prompt spring cleaning.

There are two ways to help support this developing writer if the spirit moves you.

1. Read, clap (up to 50 times is allowed), comment, or share my stories.

2. Become a Medium member through my affiliate referral link. $5/month or $50/year

Benefits: Ad-free, full- access to Medium authors and articles. Writers receive a small portion of the fee, helping to support their work.

--

--

Marianne Irvine
A Taste for Life

I enjoy reading life experience stories, lessons learned, memoir, and humour|Feel free to tag me on humour stories @marianneirvine|See About tab for more info…