Photo of sign warning of danger.
https://unsplash.com/@greg_rosenke

Mountain Rescues Involve Treacherous Conditions and Exposure to Nasty Weather

Taste for Life Prompt 2: “The question”

Joyce Nielsen
Published in
4 min readJan 13, 2024

--

Brent and I traveled for a year in our Class A Bounder RV. We aimed to explore a full-time RV lifestyle. We volunteered as campground hosts at two State Parks. That winter we explored the Spanish missions and some National Parks in California. We also visited his sister and friends in Arizona. Back in Oregon, we planned to find a small condo in a retirement community. We both knew that we wanted a permanent base camp. Being on the road was stimulating and a lot of fun. But to embrace it as a full retirement option? No, that was not acceptable.

So we bought a little condo, got our furniture out of storage, and became residents of King City. We used our RV for future excursions to places of interest.

One day I read an article in the Readers Digest. It was about a housewife who volunteered on rescue missions with her German Shepherd. They searched for live victims after devastating earthquakes and tornadoes. They belonged to an organization that coordinated the response of dog teams.

I thought, “I wouldn’t mind being part of a search and rescue team.”

--

--

Joyce Nielsen
A Taste for Life

I write on all aspects found in Nature. I hope to inspire with tales of adventure and my life experience. You can email me here: nimbledoe2@gmail.com.