It Happened To Me

My Eyeglasses Disappeared Overnight!

They Are Outta Sight!

Lynn L. Alexander
A Taste for Life

--

Photo by Hassan OUAJBIR on Unsplash

As a disclaimer, I just want to state that these are my views, and I am framing this story in my own words.

Look, last night I had a weird night regarding my sleep. It was one of those times when I was up on my iPad too long.

If you didn’t already know this, meandering online just makes the time whisk by. As does reading stories here on Medium. Before you know it, hours have passed. It can be very addicting.

There are many very informative stories here, and I have learned a lot and am a good pupil.

I am massaging my temples and hoping I do not become unhinged. I rarely lose my glasses. I am very nearsighted and have astigmatism. Basically, I am blind as a bat. Without them, I can’t do anything.

I keep old glasses in a drawer near my bed. If my glasses aren’t on my nightstand where I always put them, I have to put on other glasses to find them. I usually find my glasses on the floor around my nightstand.

Photo by Lucas Hoang on Unsplash

I am wearing the older glasses as I write this. I don’t particularly like these glasses and my prescription has changed.

I am thinking my missing glasses have to do with last night’s antics. I was very restless. I would try to sleep and then I would get a story idea or think of something I just had to know at that very moment.

I turned over from my very comfortable position and reached for my iPad. I know that is against the rules as far as promoting sleep because of the blue light. I don’t pay attention to that. I pay attention to the lightbulb going off in my head. I have to preserve lightbulb moments immediately.

I usually go to sleep around 10 or 10:30. Last night I kept trying to sleep and then kept reaching for my iPad. I didn’t fall asleep until about 2 in the morning.

I woke up early this morning. I am very tired and my eyes don’t feel well.
I think my eyelids want to close, but I am not acquiescing.

So, this morning my glasses were not on the floor. I thought because I was so tired I may have fallen asleep wearing them or they were in my bed. Nope. Not there either.

Hopefully, I didn’t look as thoroughly in my bed as I could have. Maybe they are tangled up in my sheets and are resting in my bed because I use them so much. I wish I could view this situation through rose-colored glasses. That is not who I am.

I don’t know what to do. I haven’t even caught a glimpse of them. I miss them. I need them. I am lost without them. This is a bridge too far.

I will have to go and look again and hope so much that I find them.
Perhaps I am just magnifying everything. I need to scope out my room before I panic too much.

This is a very serious problem, and I don’t want to make a spectacle of myself.

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander
A Taste for Life

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.