Not the enemy?

The opposition could be a force greater than us. Sometimes, we are our own worst enemy

Bunmi O.
A Taste for Life
2 min readMar 12, 2023

--

Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

I seek an escape
To a new world
The one abaft your exquisite vaults
The one you guard so jealously
Like your relevance depended on it.

Give me a glimpse, I plead
Into what would someday be,
All that’ll soon be mine.
Grant me this once-in-a-lifetime chance
For my eager eyes and pulsating heart
To be satisfied.

My patience’s forlorn
Long gone is the will
To trust once more
Only to be let down,
To bemoan another bad decision
Or futile dedications;
My head’s done rambling
Over which would wither or yield.
I beseech you fair one
Get me started in the right direction.

Your eyes, they draw me in
Still, they shut me out
Your lush lips whisper my name
With familiarity so profound
Lo! I’m too distracted
As I watch your hands work their magic
At getting so far, so fast
When I’d rather have you close
Within my control.
Or taunting me with your sluggish ticks
When all I want is that
The next jiffy be here already.

Realization dawns
Eventually —
You aren’t against me
Matter-of-fact, my accessory.
Tripped? Fallen?
Botched opportunities?
Yes, that’s me!
You’re living your course
Why should I halt mine?

Fear was the real enemy,
Crippling my resolve
Chiselling my ears with spurious depictions
And I had been
The damned accomplice.

Jason Edmunds shares the most exceptional writing prompts and challenges. This is the second I am participating in and for someone ready to take back her creative reins, I am excited for what’s still to come. Thank you Jason!

In the above poem, I capture human’s relationship with time, and how we sometimes perceive it as our enemy, whereas it is our fears of the unknown, repeated failure, an uncertain future… that hold us back.

Having read from these amazingly creative writers Emmanuel Olabayo Halimat Falade Kofoworola Toriola, I’d love to see what they come up with (link to the prompt is below). Kindly tag me when you publish your story.

--

--

Bunmi O.
A Taste for Life

Poet | Creative writer | Inspired by life experiences and lessons | Journey of reflection, growth, and transformation.